A&P Graphic Design and Multimedia professionals....

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by Budha, Aug 8, 2007.

1. Budha

Budha Guest

I've always been into taking photos, making like little movies w/ my parents camcorders, editing crap etc.... The thing is, I never really got big into it due to lack of equipment, computer software etc. I'm in college now and I'm getting a degree in Advertising and Multimedia. I plan on getting a new digi cam, and really learning CS3 etc so I can have a broad knowledge of a lot of programs. I'm taking about 10 multimedia classes that range from web design, to video editing, to photo manipulation. I plan on teaching myself how to do a lot of this stuff on line w/ tutorials etc too. I'm 22, and I really want to know is it too late for me to start getting into graphic design now? I'm not really good at free hand drawing, but my family has a long art background, and I think with enough practice I can learn what I want to learn?

Are there jobs out there that need guys like me that know how to get power point presentations, edit company videos, make a quick web page etc? Are they even in demand? Sorry for the long post, but the semester is coming up shortly where I actually start taking classes for my major and I'm sort of nervous. Thanks.

2. isaac86hatch

isaac86hatch This thread sucks

There is and will always be a demand. Pay may not be the best at first, but if you are creative and know the tools you can in the long run make a good living. The programs you should be most familiar with are InDesign, Illustrator and photoshop, though once you learn the first two, PS will will be nearly obsolete in some aspects. Another program that oddly enough people still use is Quark, mainly newspapers that are set in their ways.