MIL Graduating college next year. thinking about joining.

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by FKY326, Feb 14, 2008.

1. FKY326

FKY326 New Member

i've thought seriously a few times about joining and i've done some research on the various branches, but i'm just looking for i guess opinions.

i want to do OCS, i'll be a logistics major so i guess Supply would be what i'd want to do. i went tonight to talk to an army recruiter and he pretty much turned me off of the army. he said they do officer recruiting there but i think that was just a ploy to get me in because he kept trying to steer me to enlistment. not to mention he wasn't the brightest bulb. anyways from what he said if i were to join the army i would have to pick between 3 different MOS and i'd just be assigned one based on what they needed. i'm not really looking for that. i have no real desire to be a grunt, even if i'm an officer. i'm not big on being shot at i guess.

anyways i'm just seeing if its like that in pretty much every branch or if when you join up you specify exactly what you want to do and pretty much get it.

i scored a 90% on the practice ASVAB thing in a loud room with a radio beside me. i'd say i could probably do better in a quite room if i was taking my time. (finished all the sections with more than enough time left). he said i'd be around a 130ish on the point system.

*cliffs* graduating with a degree in logistics, seeing what my options are with the different branches. dont want to be a grunt and did good on the practice asvab; 90%

2. NisAznMonk

NisAznMonk New Member

Can you secure a specific MOS as an officer?

3. FKY326

FKY326 New Member

i donno thats what i'm asking. the army guy said i had to chose 3 and they'd assign me one.

4. jmx2323

jmx2323 OT Supporter

in the army they choose for you when it comes to officers

5. RecklessYouth

RecklessYouth godamnlurker