MIL Graduated from college, thinking about military

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by gsxspeeddemon, Oct 1, 2007.

1. gsxspeeddemon

gsxspeeddemon New Member

I graduated from college in may with a degree in finance. I have been looking for a job but havnt had much luck. I was primarily looking for a job as a financial analyst but its really difficult to get a leg in.

So lately i have been thinking about joining the military again. When i graduated from high school i was going to join the marines but i got a scholarship so i went to school.

Right now i have been thinking about applying to law school but i am not sure if thats for me. Besides i lack discipline and i am not sure if i could apply my self to take full advantage of law school.

So i am thinking of joining the Air Force as an officer. However i dont know what to expect. What kind of job would i get and what i would be doing. Would i get to travel or would i be stuck behind some desk. Can anyone enlighten me what i could expect if i would to join the air force or navy as an officer? What opportunities (career wise) would i have when i got out?

2. Jyokker

Jyokker The trouser snake is very aggressive. It will corn

Officer in the AF almost always = desk job.
    Unless you are a pilot, or one of the rarer technical jobs, you will most likely be a paper pusher. But look at it this way... you were going to be pushing papers anyway.

Look into being a finance officer. You will handle millions of dollars, even at the base level. That experience can mean a huge paycheck when one of the major financial institutions wants to hire you.

3. gsxspeeddemon

gsxspeeddemon New Member

How difficult is it to be a pilot?

4. joonboy

joonboy thanks jennipher

yeah how does the pilot process work? id love to be a gunship / fighter jet pilot

5. jmx2323

jmx2323 OT Supporter