Got new HD. Transfer files?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by nucklearknight, Feb 3, 2009.

  1. nucklearknight

    nucklearknight New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, California
    I just ordered a 320 gb HD to replace my 200 gb HD in my Lenovo. What's the best way to copy my files from the old HD to the new one so I don't have to reinstall vista?
     
  2. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Most HD brands have a tool you can use, check online for yours. For example, google

    Seagate clone

    for Seagate's tools
     
  3. Wolf68k

    Wolf68k OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    4,861
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    If it's a retail drive then the CD should come with it.
     
  4. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Who orders retail?
     
  5. 7960

    7960 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    60,415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New England


    that's usually half the reason I look forward to getting a new HD :rofl:
     

Share This Page