MMA got knocked the fuck down today

Discussion in 'OT Bar' started by misha, Dec 28, 2008.

1. misha

misha New Member

the boxing gym had a little sparring tournament today. basically its a two round thing. you get into the ring, spar a round with one opponent, he steps down spar with another, then you step down and he spars with another, and so on.

Well I sparred with 2 guys one very similar to me, Im 174lbs 5'10", had a good round, then spared with a heavier but shorter guy, had another good round, then sparred with a 50yo 205lbs guys who landed a hook to my eye in the middle of the round that landed me on the floor. that was the end of my sparing for the day.

my only consolation is that ive been doing this for 3 months and he's been fighting for 10 years. :hs:

2. roose

roose Guest

First time you've ever been dropped?

It's a weird feeling eh? The first time I got dropped i went from standing to one knee instantly, with a little skip in consciousness. Bounced right back up though.

3. misha

misha New Member

i think so. there might have been another time but i cant remember. I sparred this pro guy who came over to our gym to do some sparring. I remember being hit by him pretty solidly but dont recall whether i went down.

I came right back up this time, but the coach told me i was done for the day.

4. 2ofdem

2ofdem OT Supporter

Ive been dropped a few times first one I caught an axe kick with the top of my head. I was like fully concious but I couldnt stay upright it was like the link between my brain and body just got disrupted. Another time was playing rugby and I was just out cold woke up 30seconds later surrounded by people wondering where I was.

5. SCirone

SCirone Moderator

Are you a girl? (Serious question)

6. Redneck Shinobi

Redneck Shinobi Well Jules, the funny thing about my back is that