got a new hd and laptop won't recognize it

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by ImDrunkAgain, Dec 9, 2006.

  1. ImDrunkAgain

    ImDrunkAgain Resident Mental Health Counselor

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    5,043
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sultan/Monroe, WA
    Replaced my bad external HD with a new one. Got the WD1200JB 120GB HD to put in my external enclosure. Everything hooks up fine from the board in the case to the HD and it powers on and everything, but my laptop can't recognize that there is another HD hooked up. What is going on? Did I do something wrong? The new HD is the same as the old HD, just more GBs
     
  2. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,501
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    You need to partition it.
     
  3. ImDrunkAgain

    ImDrunkAgain Resident Mental Health Counselor

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    5,043
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sultan/Monroe, WA
    how do I go about partitioning it?
     
  4. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,501
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
  5. ImDrunkAgain

    ImDrunkAgain Resident Mental Health Counselor

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    5,043
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sultan/Monroe, WA
    the drive doesn't even show up in My Computer. It shows up in Device Manager, but it has an exclamation point next to it in DM
     
  6. ImDrunkAgain

    ImDrunkAgain Resident Mental Health Counselor

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    5,043
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sultan/Monroe, WA
    fixed. Had to set the jumpers to Master, they were set at Cable Select
     

Share This Page