Got a Dual G5 Power Mac for $120

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Lucifer, Jan 4, 2008.

  1. Lucifer

    Lucifer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,799
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Plano, TX
    No idea what I'm doing....I've always been a PC guy and having never used a Mac, this is a bit strange. :noes:

    I got it from a closing CompUSA store that had it in their tech shop for Apple customer backups. It has Leopard, a 500GB drive, and 2GB of RAM (The drive and RAM were added by the store I guess seeing as how the paperwork says it came with a 160 drive and 512 RAM.)

    So now what? What's the best use of this beast? I've got a spare 8800GTS 640 sitting around, can I install it? Nvidia doesn't show any Mac drivers.
     
  2. iridium130

    iridium130 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    6,034
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anaheim Hills, CA --> Denver, CO
    killer deal!

    i think you need a video card made for mac, you cant use just any...

    this makes me want to swing by a compusa store :noes:
     
  3. skolen

    skolen Guest

    Click the Apple icon in the upper left, then choose "About This Mac". Then click "More Info" and tell use what CPU/GPU it has.
     
  4. Lucifer

    Lucifer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,799
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Plano, TX
    Hardware Overview:

    Model Name: Power Mac G5
    Model Identifier: PowerMac11,2
    Processor Name: PowerPC G5 (1.1)
    Processor Speed: 2 GHz
    Number Of CPUs: 2
    L2 Cache (per CPU): 1 MB
    Memory: 2.5 GB
    Bus Speed: 1 GHz
    Boot ROM Version: 5.2.7f1

    NVIDIA GeForce 6600 LE:

    Chipset Model: GeForce 6600LE
    Type: Display
    Bus: PCIe
    Slot: SLOT-1
    PCIe Lane Width: x16
    VRAM (Total): 128 MB
    Vendor: NVIDIA (0x10de)
    Device ID: 0x0142
    Revision ID: 0x00a4
    ROM Revision: 2149
    Displays:
    FHD2400:
    Resolution: 1920 x 1200 @ 60 Hz
    Depth: 32-bit Color
    Core Image: Hardware Accelerated
    Main Display: Yes
    Mirror: Off
    Online: Yes
    Quartz Extreme: Supported
    Rotation: Supported
    Display Connector:
    Status: No display connected
     
  5. verbal

    verbal Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    22,502
    Likes Received:
    0
    Lucky! [/napoleon]

    Makes me wish I would've checked the two CompUSA stores around here before they closed.
     
  6. doublemeat

    doublemeat New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Messages:
    14,524
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Inside Loop 410
    damn.... fucking deal.
     
  7. Pineapple Devil

    Pineapple Devil beat it!

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    53,752
    Likes Received:
    8
    hot deal!

    did you just go in and ask or was it sitting out somewhere?
     
  8. Lucifer

    Lucifer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,799
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Plano, TX
    I went in asking about fixtures that they had for sale and the Gorbon Brother's guy took me into the tech shop to see some of their heavy duty shelving. The machine was sitting there on the counter so I asked, he gave to SKU to a passing employee who then returned with the price and said that it was a store use SKU and was "N16 status." No idea what that means but I took it right there.
     
  9. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    nice deal - i went by compusa yesterday to try to get some apple wall posters or something, they were gone already :(
     
  10. LOLZILLA

    LOLZILLA New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Messages:
    97,923
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow.

    I'll give you 200 for it right now.

    Deal?
     
  11. skolen

    skolen Guest

    N16 means it has no home and can be priced out by the store to sell. When I worked for one waaay back in '99 they had a liquidation sale only available to employees. We were grabbing those candy colored iMacs for $100 and I got a $900 Sony Cybershot (best at the time) for $75.
     
  12. TheWeasel

    TheWeasel Guest

    Too bad the 4 CompUSAs around here closed over a year ago already with the first round of closures. Sweet deal.
     
  13. Lucifer

    Lucifer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,799
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Plano, TX
    So yes or no on the 8800 working? I read some where that Leopard has drivers for the 8800 series but I want to be sure.
     
  14. Yardsale

    Yardsale OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Messages:
    88,007
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    San Francisco
    wow gimme!!!!!
     
  15. skolen

    skolen Guest

    It needs to be a videocard with a Mac BIOS. Some let you reflash, but it's gotta be one Macs support already.
     
  16. tenplanescrashing

    tenplanescrashing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    damn, that's a great fucking kill!
     
  17. skolen

    skolen Guest

    If you seriously don't want it, you could turn an easy $1,000 on eBay.
     
  18. ady

    ady New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    10,959
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    No. PC cards only work on Mac Pros.
     
  19. Lucifer

    Lucifer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,799
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Plano, TX
    I just might do that. I'm not into music or video editing so it is kind of a waste to just have it sitting here.
     
  20. Lucifer

    Lucifer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,799
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Plano, TX
    Thank you.
     
  21. tenplanescrashing

    tenplanescrashing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    that isn't all Macs are used for...:hsugh:
     
  22. jackback52

    jackback52 Guest

    http://eshop.macsales.com/item/ATI%20Technologies/100435854/

    i think this is the best one available for you powermac G5. the hareware profiler says you have PCI Express.
    [FONT=Verdana,Arial]
    ATI RADEON X1900 G5 Mac Edition - 256MB PCI Express Graphics Card. Dual DVI outputs, S-Video, & VGA Adapter Included. **For PCI-Express Slot equipped Dual & Quad PowerMac G5 Models introduced October 2005**
    [/FONT]
     
  23. Lucifer

    Lucifer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,799
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Plano, TX
    Yeah, it has 4 PCI Express slots. No need to spend that much on it really. I've got a PC with SLIed 8800GT. Just figured I'd toss in an old 8800GTS since I have them.
     

Share This Page