A&P Good Site for monitor calibration

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by flavin, Aug 26, 2008.

  1. flavin

    flavin Piss Off Hamburgler. This is my Chicken Sandwich!

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2001
    Messages:
    5,090
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MD
    I just got the LG L227WTG and the colors look great right out of the box. I want to see if there is a bit of calibrating I can do to make them better.

    Thanks
     
  2. mojito

    mojito New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    62,877
    Likes Received:
    0
    uh, no. you need a hardware + software calibration kit. the Huey is cheap and decent.
     
  3. johan

    johan Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sahasrara; magnetic violet infinite
    better than the spyder? or they about the same
     
  4. Dwight Schrute

    Dwight Schrute New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    Messages:
    8,616
    Likes Received:
    0
    Fail. You can't calibrate a monitor with a website. You need a hardware calibration device.

    Pantone Huey, Colorvision Spyder, or X-Rite i1Display 2 in increasing order of goodness.
     
  5. f/2.8L

    f/2.8L New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Messages:
    4,762
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    404
    Amazon has the X-Rite EODIS2 Eye-One Display 2 in their Goldbox today for $179.99.

    I've never used it before so I can't vouch for it, but I thought it was a fitting deal for this thread.
     
  6. Bloke

    Bloke Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Messages:
    26,775
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pekin, IL
    does that do TV's as well?
     
  7. f/2.8L

    f/2.8L New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Messages:
    4,762
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    404
    Dunno Bloke, I've never used it.
     
  8. ///Mik3

    ///Mik3 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    911
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    All Over California
    no, the i1 does not do TV as it creates color profiles for a video card to load, unless the TV is being run through your computer, then yes, but only when you're watching things from your computer will it be properly calibrated.
     

Share This Page