Good hard drive copy tool?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by LabradorBoy, Jun 10, 2005.

  1. LabradorBoy

    LabradorBoy OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,515
    Likes Received:
    0
    I want to make an exact clone of my PC for when I make a transfer to my new one....

    What's a good program to use?

    I do not want to use a floppy and I want it to be completely executable from Windows XP... suggestions?
     
  2. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Ghost

    /thread
     
  3. beave

    beave Housin Beers & Buildin Dams

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,689
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    mean streets of NJ
    qft
     
  4. Ivy Mike

    Ivy Mike New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2002
    Messages:
    119,226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Ghost works very well.

    You could also use Roxio to make an image, but that would take longer and require a LOT more space than Ghost.

    You could also connect another drive to the machine and just use

    C:\> copy *.* d:\

    but thats DOS and DOS is my homie!!!
     
  5. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    You know full well that wouldn't work.
     
  6. Lateralus

    Lateralus New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2001
    Messages:
    5,953
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Midwest
    Just "obtain" a copy of Ghost off the net, even though its well worth the money.
     
  7. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    can we please ban this person?
     
  8. Wolf68k

    Wolf68k OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    4,861
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    Maxtor and WesternDigital HDDs both include a CD that you can use to both format and to a disc-to-disc copy of a drive.
    When you put the new HDD in as slave and go to format with the CD, if you tell the program it's a new bootable drive after it's done formatting it it'll automaticly start the copy.

    I believe both also offer it as a ISO you can download from their site and burn to CD, but don't quote me. I do know both offer it as a downloadable floppy, which is also just as good as the CD version.
     
  9. Ivy Mike

    Ivy Mike New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2002
    Messages:
    119,226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Actually, when considering what the person is asking, you are right.
     
  10. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Well yeah - I mean you'd copy about a dozen files off of the root and then... well then what?
     
  11. sabre1041

    sabre1041 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    12,683
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    ghost > *
     
  12. Mikey D

    Mikey D New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Messages:
    6,666
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Royal Oak, MI
    Cup on too tight today?
     
  13. EXECUTiVE

    EXECUTiVE New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Messages:
    2,279
    Likes Received:
    0

Share This Page