Good guitar for a mid range price?

Discussion in 'Entertainment' started by WS6Formula350, Oct 6, 2004.

1. WS6Formula350

WS6Formula350 molestache amririte?

Like in the $900 and less range. I'm looking for a second axe to play on that I can tune and detune without worrying about it so much... I've got a '72 Fender strat with a 24 fret neck and a Floyd Rose bridge so I can't whip it out of tune whenever I feel like it. My other guitar just isn't cutting it any more, it's one of those $200 Sammick specials that I started playing on :o Sam Ash has a Joe Satriani JS100 for about $750 on their website. It's only 22 frets... I don't know.

I know there's some guitar gods on OT, someone advise me :)

2. d00d00

d00d00 In cold blood

The Ibanez Artcore range are pretty awesome. Vintage look and fucking light, and some of them have a tuning peg that drops D with the flick of a switch. The only problem is the tone is kinda mellow, but throw a single coil on the neck pickup and you should be fine.

3. meathook-ernie

meathook-ernie New Member

i'd go witha good old gibson sg

4. drinks11

drinks11 I record music.

Just based on how they sound, a Telecaster semi-hollow. Not sure if that's within your price range, but I'd go and play one, once you hear it, you'll be hooked the same way I was.

5. chiuey98

chiuey98 OT Resident Bangkokian

what kind of music do you play?

and do you play lead or rythm?

If you're not that good, there no point on buying a 24 fret guitar, it's gonna be useless to you. I've been playing for 12 yrs, and I've never had the need to go beyound a 22.

If memory serves me right, you can get a SG for about 900 bucks, but I think a US standard Strat is about 600.

6. RAGEman

RAGEman Guest

I have a Schecter Diamond Series C-1 Artist Limited Edition.

Got it for $600 from Musician's Friend.

It's one of the best guitars I've ever played on...

:)