Good alarm w/ remote start for Manual trans?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by z284pwr, Oct 16, 2002.

1. z284pwr

z284pwr OT Supporter

What alarm do you guys suggest I get that would have remote start that works for a manual trans? Or does any one work, just have to bypass the saftey ignition thing? I'm new with alarms so I don't know what I'm lookin for, I've read that DEI Alarms are the best, but wanna know from experts on what to get, I'll worry about prices later...can't be more than what any car is worth...
    The car is an '88 Chev Beretta 5 Speed Manual

I'm not worried about installer yet, or saftey issues, just looking for the equipment right now..

2. Axilrod

Axilrod Guest

Viper 550 ESP, I have it and love it. But most places wont put a remote start on a 5 speed.

3. EvilSS

EvilSS Guest

The Clifford Avantguard 4 has this. There is a routine you have to go through when you park to allow it to start later. Any remote start system will work, but most installers will not put them in for legal/safety reasons. I was quoted $1,200 for this from Ultimate Electronics (only place I could find the damned thing around here). That was like 480 for the alarm and the rest for labor. Very complex system. Cool alarm, but too much $$$ for my taste.

Also FYI: Clifford, Viper, Sidewinder, Python, Valet, Rattler, Wasp, Avital, and Hornet are all made by DEI.

4. z284pwr

z284pwr OT Supporter

Thanks for the replies guys, I'll start looking more into it now
    How experience do you have to be to be able to install an alarm/starter by yourself, I've never installed one, but I've got 2 people that are very skilled with wiring. Or would it just be better to have a place install it?
    Thanks again for the replies..

5. Axilrod

Axilrod Guest

It's complicated, unless you've put in alarms before, dont try it.

6. EvilSS

EvilSS Guest