A&P gonna pull out the D50 tomorrow...

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by xenon supra, Dec 3, 2008.

  1. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    to shoot the GT basketball game (my first time doing bball)

    D300 with 80-200 2.8 (far court)
    D50 with 28-70 2.8 (near court)

    should be pretty fun. I need to relearn AUTO-ISO on the D50 quick.
     
  2. Smeghead

    Smeghead New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2006
    Messages:
    7,108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Klingonlandia
    What do you mean you need to relearn AUTO-ISO? What is it to learn about setting the cam on AUTO-ISO? And setting your own ISO not ftw?
     
  3. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I forget how it works on the d50. its different from the d300 I think.
     
  4. themolsen

    themolsen New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    Messages:
    7,414
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    it's pretty simple. you just set a minimum a shutter speed in the menu and use the normal ISO controls to set your starting ISO
     
  5. adamlewis88

    adamlewis88 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Good luck and have a good time. Be sure to post up what you get.
     
  6. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    of course :cool:
     
  7. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    not really, auto iso only allows 1/125 or slower.

    so i set it on manual to 1/1000th and f/2.8 and let the ISO float between 200-1600 :bowdown:
     
  8. ok_computer

    ok_computer OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    15,615
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB, Canada
    Why wouldn't you use manual everything? It's not like the lighting will be changing a bunch or anything, why would you leave it to the camera to set exposure?

    Just get it right and you're good for the rest of the game
     
  9. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    what would be the advantage to that over what I'm doing?

    I'd rather be safe.
     
  10. ok_computer

    ok_computer OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    15,615
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB, Canada
    I think the safe thing is getting the exposure right, once, and leaving it :ugh:

    Letting the camera do the thinking would be the "unsafe" way.
     
  11. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I'm not arguing with you, I'm just curious....

    I'd trust the camera to calculate it correctly as opposed to my eye viewing a tiny 2" screen to determine whether or not its exposed properly...

    I guess I could use the histogram, but still....
     
  12. adamlewis88

    adamlewis88 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Use the histogram and set it manually.

    The camera will expose differently from a normal court shot with the bright floor and a baseline/sideline shot with a dark crowd. Just meter it once and leave it.
     

Share This Page