Going to school for Network Administration?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by IceMurder, Aug 12, 2007.

1. IceMurder

IceMurder Guest

Anyone here in the field? How do you like it? Hows the job/training? Usual Pay?

2. deusexaethera

deusexaethera OT Supporter

Nobody really goes to school for something that specific anymore. Companies know they need a flexible IT department. Get a degree in CS, or at least IT.

3. P07r0457

P07r0457 New Member

BS in CS for me

4. Penguin Man

Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

Yeah, all the best system and network admins that I know are CS grads.

5. dorkultra

dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

you could go with computer infomation systems with cisco networking option

i did...but i regret it, cause i hate cisco now

6. grocerylist

grocerylist New Member

Why the hate for Cisco?

7. pyehac

pyehac if she's old enough to cross the street, she's old

I did, no one wants to hire me because I have no experience (other than school). Workingg as a computer tech FTL.

8. IceMurder

IceMurder Guest

not what i wanted to hear :( ive already registered for my classes...but i mean i guess i can always use them for something else and change majors next semester or something :dunno:

9. deusexaethera

Oh my god. :eek3: I just gave someone education advice and nobody body-checked me for it!

:dance:

10. Sexual Vanilla

Sexual Vanilla New Member

Motherfucking .

Just graduated with a CIS degree with networking emphasis...but, the caveat is the fact that I have marginal work experience. Therefore, I'm stuck at a help desk position while the people with "certifications" rake in the dough.

11. Doc Brown

Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

:rofl:

12. Neuman

Neuman New Member

i'd definitely recommend getting some student position at your university's IT department, or do a summer internship, or anything to get a foot in the door towards some remedial IT work experience that you can put on your resume.