GUN Going to my CCW classes next week but found a possible problem

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by bjonesy77, Jul 8, 2008.

1. bjonesy77

bjonesy77 New Member

I'm going to my CCW classes next week, but happend to stumble on a small problem. Some of you may have seen my thread in the main forum, but obviously I didn't get a real answer from anybody. I figured you guys would be able to help more than anybody else for obvious reasons.

A while back I was stopped by a cop and ended up getting a citation for less than 100grams of marijuana. It was a simple "ticket" that I had to pay a 110 dollar fine for. I didn't have to go to court or anything. Before you post "potheads shouldn't be able to carry guns anyways" I'm well aware. I'm not a pothead, I was a dumb kid and made a dumb mistake. But will that disqualify me from having a concealed carry permit?

Thanks in advance guys, I appreciate any insight you can provide.

2. I'm not an expert on Ohio law, but I doubt that will disqualify you. You generally have to do something violent, felonious, or be crazy to be disqualified.

3. itchiban

itchiban New Member

Misdemeanor? You're good.

4. yar1182

yar1182 New Member

As far as I know if it's not a felony and you don't confess to it when asked any questions of drug usage you should not get flagged. Now this is dependent on how detailed the process is in your state/county.

If you do get your CCW I would recommend that you act responsibly from here on out. I like to get my drink on but I make sure the guns are put away before I get down with the brew.

5. bjonesy77

bjonesy77 New Member

I'm sure it was a misdemeanor, I didnt even have to go to court for it. Just a simple written citation that I paid out the next day. However, the reason I ask is because of this

6. That looks like it could be a problem.

7. bjonesy77

bjonesy77 New Member

of course. Like I said, I was a dumb kid that made a dumb mistake. It was 3 years ago to boot.

8. bjonesy77