going to go buy a new router today...

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by severedties, Jun 16, 2008.

  1. severedties

    severedties OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    9,465
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    So. Cal.
    obviously the mac geniuses were trying to convince me to buy the airport extreme...is it worth the extreme amount of money?

    $180 for a router is pretty expensive...

    my current shitty belkin does not allow me to secure my network (it locks my macs out too) and it also does not allow me to wirelessly connect mac to mac...

    any other router recommendations???

    tia
     
  2. adelacruz

    adelacruz New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,991
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Saint Petersburg, Florida.
    i bought a wrt54gs from linksys and that works well, i honestly dont see the point of the airport extreme, how much do you actually need to do with your network? All i need is to have all my friends be able to get online when they come over and have my console connect to the internet as well as my computer. I can do that with my 60 dollar router. It also has QoS features. I havent tried going mac to mac but dont see why it wouldnt, i can see my friends windows pc's when they connect.
     
    Last edited: Jun 16, 2008
  3. Glitch

    Glitch Da Pulp

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,462
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bellingham, WA
  4. Jacen2141

    Jacen2141 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SC
    Best Buy employee #2 signing in and I have to disagree with the Linksys. In my humble opinion, Linksys' consumer level division has gone to shit. I have an Extreme and do feel that it's worth the ease of setup (only if you're a dumbass will this be worth it), antenna strength, and speeds...not to mention you're paying for a print server ($99 anyway) with the Extreme.

    It's definitely up to you - Prior to the Extreme I had my network setup with a Buffalo as an access point and an Express as a repeater and it worked very well however when we replaced that setup with the Extreme there was a noticeable speed increase.

    The other routers - Netgear, D Link, Belkin, and Linksys (sigh) will still get you to the same Internet however
     
  5. severedties

    severedties OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    9,465
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    So. Cal.
    OK...i went and purchased the extreme...i figure that i know its a great router and the money wasnt that big of a deal. thanks for everybody's input
     
  6. Jacen2141

    Jacen2141 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SC
    good purchase. You won't be disappointed
     
  7. mad_vtak

    mad_vtak Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    30,760
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Memfrica
    i love my apple router
     
  8. Pitt

    Pitt 1-1-11 — Never Forget OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    150,314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Injured Reserve
    even though it's more expensive, apple stuff works better together. :hsd:

    it's almost worth the rape.
     
  9. Glitch

    Glitch Da Pulp

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,462
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bellingham, WA
    i actually run a D-Link Xtreme myself and it's been a good network, but i feel like there's always room for improvement.. what router is it you're using? :noes:

    and don't forget- netgear gets you the same internet for 5 minutes at a time and then you have to sacrifice a virgin to get it back
     
  10. Justin Niggalake

    Justin Niggalake New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    32,513
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    i just bought a belkin N router or something that the BB employee recommended and it's worked like a champ

    my vista desktop won't stay connected for more than 5 minutes, but i figured that's just vista. my macbook and xp laptop have no problems at all
     
  11. Glitch

    Glitch Da Pulp

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,462
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bellingham, WA
    if one computer is continually dropping but others are fine, that sounds like a security problem.
    WPA?
     
  12. Fidel Castro

    Fidel Castro OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    9,419
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Cuba
    :rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl::ugh:
     
  13. Matt550

    Matt550 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    8,569
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Littleton Colorado
    I bought a Time Capsule today, I need a new router anyways, plus I need a external HD, time to start backing my stuff up. I had a little extra money so I thought why not! Works great so far. Almost to easy to set up, I was making it way harder then it needed to be.
     
  14. Glitch

    Glitch Da Pulp

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,462
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bellingham, WA
    good job figuring out i was totally serious :hsugh:
     
  15. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    I use a Linksys WRT150N running DD-WRT v24 and it works fine with my MBP.
     
  16. Jacen2141

    Jacen2141 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SC
    I'm using the Extreme currently but before that had a Buffalo.

    Netgear's have always been fine for me...a little finicky with their initial setup but otherwise stable. It's a YMMV kinda thing...which is why I mentioned earlier that they'll all get you to the same Internet...I just have my preferences.
     

Share This Page