Going to buy an older g4 tower, suggestions?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by dmora, Oct 18, 2004.

  1. dmora

    dmora Guest

    Its probably gonna be a 400-450mhz. they all have wack 16mb vid cards. Any ideas where to get something more up to speed? Its a 4x agp slot to and all i can really find are 8x. :mad:
     
  2. ej25power

    ej25power OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Messages:
    566
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Portland, OR
  3. DrCarlo

    DrCarlo Its not that im lazy, its just that I dont care.

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    464
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    I have a G4 450 (sawtooth) and its very good. I upgraded the video card to a Radeon 7000 and it has 1 gig of ram in it, a dvd burner and 2x 80gig IDE disks.. Its actually pritty quick still.

    Go to http://www.apple-history.com and look over the models to see which has what AGP ports etc etc.

    The Nichrome systems
     
  4. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    woot!

    G4 tower here. i just have the (then top of the line) ATI Radeon (no model number cause it was the first). it actually still holds up pretty well considering it's six years old now and can still handle most of the current FPS games i've tried pretty well.
     
  5. dmora

    dmora Guest

    I never knew you were a Mac guy. :cool:
     
  6. funkatation

    funkatation I'm dead sexy!

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2001
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Have you bought the tower yet? I have a G4 400mhz gigabit, with a geforce 3 that I'm looking to sell.
     
  7. DrCarlo

    DrCarlo Its not that im lazy, its just that I dont care.

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    464
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    dmora.. yeah go figure eh.. I admin 100 windows servers & have a swag of MS cert under my name.. But I am a Mac guy through and through..

    I remember when I brought the mac, it was a leap of faith.. Now I just want more and more. I got my mum a imac for her birthday and my sister a imac for christmas.. hehehe.. Macs are cool

    Im soooo hanging out to get a new G5... might wait a little longer tho as the G4 is still cranking pritty hard..
     
  8. Error

    Error ¿ti†le øut-of_order

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,410
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tysons Corner, VA
    I put a Radeon 9600 in my Sawtooth, and a 1.4GHz G4 upgrade. 2GB RAM, etc... sold it to my girlfriend, but that thing was sweet. Still is.
     
  9. dmora

    dmora Guest

    :werd: Wait till the Powerbook goes G5. Hopefull in Jan :x:
     
  10. DrCarlo

    DrCarlo Its not that im lazy, its just that I dont care.

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    464
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    [email protected] av..

    Yeah I am gonna wait for new powerbooks.. I am not sure if I will go a laptop or a tower.. Will decide when the price tag is released for the notebooks..

    g5 goodness. *droool*
     
  11. dmora

    dmora Guest

    I sent you a PM. :wavey:
     
  12. I just picked up a hella sweet deal on a G4 dual 500.
     
  13. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    cool. that would be a "Gigabit Ethernet G4". that's the same model i have DP500 and all.
     
  14. VBGOD

    VBGOD Guest

    That machine with OS X and tons of RAM = :cool:
     
  15. xxxgames12

    xxxgames12 Guest

    I love messing around (more like UP lol) with old macs. The old black iMac I used to have; when the powerboard burnt out I used a whole bunch of it's [still useful] parts to make my new apple eMac go even faster. I even savaged the 20 gig HD and put it into an external HD casing. Sure it dosen't hold much and it dosen't look to good, but oh well! lol
     
  16. JointBeaker

    JointBeaker packaging engineer #2 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2002
    Messages:
    4,373
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    here.
    Did I hear someone say Dual500? :wiggle:

    [​IMG]
     
  17. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    yep... :)

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2004
  18. Yeah, I got an awesome deal on it...dual procs, and a 17inch monitor for $250. Paying off the guy tomorrow for it.
     
  19. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
  20. inamorata

    inamorata New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Messages:
    23,762
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California
    SUGGESTION: buy a G5 tower :o
     
  21. dmora

    dmora Guest

    bump from the dead thread.
     
  22. Laserbeak

    Laserbeak Remember kids! Be like Billy! BEHAVE YOURSELVES!

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Messages:
    22,910
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    WA
    Don't forget that Sonnet has the SATA controller, that, when installed, removes the 120 GB barrier from QuickSilver Macs and below when it comes to HDD size.

    Unfortunately, even with a CPU and HDD controller upgrade, your memory bandwidth is still stuck at 100 MHz. :sad2:
     
  23. xxxgames12

    xxxgames12 Guest

    go for the colored ones. the rock! :)
     
  24. xxxgames12

    xxxgames12 Guest

  25. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    :hsugh: colored ones?

    I think you're thinking of the old iMacs. We're talking PowerMacs here, son. :mamoru:
     

Share This Page