Going back to XP.

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by popsnbeer, Feb 3, 2009.

  1. popsnbeer

    popsnbeer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2,314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    I am thinking that this is my best option. I cannot stand not having my Adobe CS2 (does not work in Vista) and other older programs of mine not working in Vista. Anybody else do this? I think I will give a new OS a shot when 7 comes out.

    Thoughts?
     
  2. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Adobe CS2 doesn't work in Vista? I thought I had it installed and running fine a while back. I reformatted, but didn't put it back on yet.

    What other programs do you have that don't work in Vista?
     
  3. popsnbeer

    popsnbeer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2,314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    I have an old crappy music editing program (magix music maker 2004) that I have to use every year in the Spring (my main reason for going back to XP). I cannot get my NERO software to install in Vista either.
     
  4. popsnbeer

    popsnbeer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2,314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    oh...if you can get CS2 to install in Vista, I just may not go back to XP out of shear convenience.
     
  5. SPACECATAZ

    SPACECATAZ New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,502
    Likes Received:
    0
    Isn't CS4 out now? :hsugh:

    Shouldn't have any problems with Windows 7 or Vista.
     
  6. popsnbeer

    popsnbeer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2,314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    lol.....yes...however that would require me buying CS4 just because. I would rather use my perfectly good CS2 that I already have. Even if I can get the master collection CS4 for $500.
     
  7. Hate Crime

    Hate Crime Don't Hate OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    CS2 works fine in vista. You just don't know what you are doing.
     
  8. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good point. What's the right way to do it?
     
  9. Limp_Brisket

    Limp_Brisket New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    48,422
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Utah
    umm, i have cs2 on my laptop (which is vista) and it works fine.
     
  10. Hate Crime

    Hate Crime Don't Hate OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    format c: /q
     
  11. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    rimshot.jpg
     
  12. BlazinBlazer Guy

    BlazinBlazer Guy Witness to The De-Evolution of Mankind.

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    18,783
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lansing, MI USA
    If CS2 won't run natively, just run it in fucking compatibility mode under Vista
     
  13. Vixen01777

    Vixen01777 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NY
    [​IMG]
     
  14. dissonance

    dissonance reset OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    5,652
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    KS
    I have some older programs that don't run in Vista and just use Microsoft's Virtual PC to have a vm of XP... works fine most of the time.
     
  15. rsxm5

    rsxm5 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Messages:
    2,961
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I use Photoshop CS2 in Vista... I've never had any trouble with it
     
  16. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm pretty sure you can get a still shot of a basketball sitting on the rim of a hoop, looking like it's about to fall in.
     
  17. trouphaz

    trouphaz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,666
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nothing useful to add other than that a rimshot is a drumming term, not a basketball one.
     
  18. CodeX

    CodeX Guest

    I use CS2 in Vista almost every day, haven't found a program yet that works in XP but not Vista...

    I'm willing to bet the OP is trying to run the old install... as in he did not reinstall it after installing Vista, and is trying to use it as it sits in the windows.old/program files folder... which will not work.
     
  19. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've heard it's a drumming term, but I apply it to basketball because it works there too.
     
  20. trouphaz

    trouphaz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,666
    Likes Received:
    0
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rimshot

    it has nothing to do with basketball and it doesn't work there.
     

Share This Page