WEB godaddy.com help

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by nucklearknight, Oct 23, 2008.

  1. nucklearknight

    nucklearknight New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, California
    So I just bought a domain on godaddy.com
    What do I do now? :hsugh:

    I have some webpages ready that I made using HTML but how do I get them on the domain I have with godaddy.com?
     
  2. White Stormy

    White Stormy Take that, subspace!

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    85,489
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Sparkopolis
    You need to host the content somewhere. The domain is just a forwarding address. You still need a physical address where the content will be that the domain can forward to.

    Some of the cheaper hosts are:

    but several of them may require a year payment up front to get that low monthly average rate.

    there may also be coupons available for a free month or lower rate, etc. check http://b2evolution.net/ and http://retailmenot.com/ for those.
     
  3. nucklearknight

    nucklearknight New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, California
    I just found out by chance that I get some free hosting (300gb bandwith & 10gb storage) with my domain on godaddy.
    I think I may have it figured out.
     
  4. SmugZombie

    SmugZombie OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    3,783
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Free ay... Seems Fishy.. How much did u pay for this domain, and what is it (a .com, .net, .me .ect...)
     
  5. nucklearknight

    nucklearknight New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, California
    It's a .com and I use a promo code I saw on OT so I got it for 2.50 ish. The hosting is free and I got my site up but there is a banner add at the top :/
    My school (sfsu) provides me with free web hosting. How can I use that on godaddy?
     
  6. Pepsi1975

    Pepsi1975 Mod of the Year

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    47,590
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Detroit
    need to get the dns info from your school and put it into godaddy
     
  7. nucklearknight

    nucklearknight New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, California
    Where do I enter it at godaddy?
     
  8. Pepsi1975

    Pepsi1975 Mod of the Year

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    47,590
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Detroit
    log into go daddy
    go to domain manager
    click on domain name
    click on manage nameservers and clear out godaddys and enter yours
     
  9. Finest

    Finest OG #93

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2000
    Messages:
    30,769
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Wisconsin. Seriously.
    FYI: it can take up to 24 hrs of switching nameservers for your site to show up. So don't panic when you don't see it right away.

    And link to site after you're done? :x:
     
  10. nucklearknight

    nucklearknight New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, California
    Now I just got to figure out what the nameservers are...
     
  11. DnA02

    DnA02 Hey, how YOU doin?! OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 27, 2004
    Messages:
    1,914
    Likes Received:
    0
    good info so far...reminds me my beginning days..DNS was a headache for me
     
  12. nucklearknight

    nucklearknight New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, California
    Just talked to my SFSU professor and he said that SFSU might not let me use their servers to host my site with my own URL. I'll look into it more.

    In the meantime I'm back on the free hosting with ad's. Here's a link to the site.
    My Site
     
  13. SmugZombie

    SmugZombie OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    3,783
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Purgatory
    You can just have your domain forward to your school site :dunno: if thats whats good for you
     
  14. SmugZombie

    SmugZombie OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    3,783
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Purgatory
    FYI, i got pretty far on your quiz, and i have NO IDEA who you are.

    :wiggle:
     
  15. nucklearknight

    nucklearknight New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, California
    You a good guesser?

    I might have it forwarded. I bought the domain so that I would have a more easy to remember url than "userwww.sfsu.edu/~filice/MyWebsite/MyWebsite.html"
     
  16. nucklearknight

    nucklearknight New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, California
    Oh and I just signed up at HelioHost.org
    When it asked for my desired domain name I just entered the one I bought from godaddy. Do I have to transfer it somehow?
     
  17. Pepsi1975

    Pepsi1975 Mod of the Year

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    47,590
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Detroit
  18. nucklearknight

    nucklearknight New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, California
  19. Pepsi1975

    Pepsi1975 Mod of the Year

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    47,590
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Detroit
    no idea, never used them or heard of them, i have never used a free host before
     

Share This Page