God damn blue screen o death .. help please

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by .Nameless., Sep 5, 2004.

  1. .Nameless.

    .Nameless. Guest

    My roomie installed some new memory a few months ago now at least 2 - 3 times a week I get the BsoD. I've told her time and time again to call Dell for help but she refuses to.

    So maybe you guys can help. When the screen comes up I get an error mesage that reads "IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL" and then at the bottom it says it's physcially dumping the memory. And then memory dump complete.

    It's a Dell Dimension Desktop 2350
    640 MB RAM
    Pentium 4 2.20 Ghz

    If you need more info let me know. Thank you to anyone can help me.
     
  2. Person

    Person Guest

    its your memory try replacing the newest stick and run your computer and see if its stable. repeat process if it occurs just mix and match your ram sticks
     
  3. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    i get the same error but im not on a dell.
     
  4. Midknightster

    Midknightster New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2004
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Change your RAM charge timings in the BIOS. With a Dell hmm that could be interesting but see if there is an "Optimal Setting". If not there will be about 4 to 3 things in a row that deal with the voltages to your ram set them all to the lowest number most likely 2-2-2-5 is the timing you want. Also your friend might have put in the wrong type of RAM for the motherboard and you are slowly burning it out. Check see what type you can handle.
     
  5. .Nameless.

    .Nameless. Guest

    :confused: I'm not to smart when it comes to BIOS and all that. Could you please try and explain it in a more straightforward way or gimmie links to a good FAQs or something. Thanks.
     
  6. Midknightster

    Midknightster New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2004
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Do you have any computer guys or gals around you? LOL If you were in Edmonton, Alberta or near Regina, Saskatchewan I could hook you up easily. This is a little hard to explain with Dell being a piece and all. There BIOS's are different for every version they bring out.
     
  7. RammsteinGT

    RammsteinGT New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Messages:
    3,883
    Likes Received:
    0
    [​IMG]
     
  8. .Nameless.

    .Nameless. Guest

    Sadly , no
     
  9. Midknightster

    Midknightster New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2004
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Tell me the RAM you got in your machine and what machien you have (model #, and other specs you know of). I'll try my hardest to figure out a solution.
     
  10. .Nameless.

    .Nameless. Guest

    Dell Dimension DIM2350
    Windows XP Home Edition SP1
    Pentium 4 2.20 Ghz
    2.19 Ghz
    640 MB of RAM
     
  11. Muchacho_Gasolino

    Muchacho_Gasolino New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NC
    go back to the old memory :dunno:
    could be that your ram speeds dont match, in case your roommate left your old memory in there when he/she installed the new or he/she put in two different kinds of memory
     

Share This Page