Gnome Q: How do I make an app launcher run an app as root?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by bakinbits, Aug 9, 2003.

  1. bakinbits

    bakinbits -This Space for Rent-

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2000
    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    hurr durr
    I'm searching some linux doc sites for my answer... just hoping that OT can pull through..

    Thx
     
  2. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    kdesu <command> should work. There must be a gnome-specific way too, but I'm not sure.
     
  3. Joe_Cool

    Joe_Cool Never trust a woman or a government. Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    299,409
    Likes Received:
    591
  4. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Yea, that works too, it's just nicer not to have to have it open a terminal.
     
  5. Joe_Cool

    Joe_Cool Never trust a woman or a government. Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    299,409
    Likes Received:
    591
    All you have to do is tell it not to open in a terminal when creating the launcher. It's a checkbox option.
     

Share This Page