GUN Glock 19

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by monolith, Aug 11, 2004.

1. monolith

monolith My soul grows ever weary and the end is ever near. OT Supporter

I will be turning 21 in about 10 days, I have been shooting shotguns and rifles for the past 5 months, but I haven't shot a handgun yet. I went to the range today and asked a bunch of questions about how I go about buying a gun, what I need to do, etc...I told the person there that I was planning on either buying a Glock or a Sig but since no one around here has a Sig for me to hold/shoot I am leaning towards a Glock...which the range does have.

I want a 9mm and I held a Glock 19 today and I liked the way it felt, when I turn 21 I will go back and shoot it. Here are my main questions:

- Anyone have experience (good or bad) with the Glock 19?

- I told the person working there that I will probably buy the gun online since I can get a Glock 19 for ~$460 off of www.topglock.com instead of the $560 at the range...she informed me that there will be a transfer fee ($35 dollar for the transfer and $5 for the background check), shipping and she also said that if those prices are for LEO (Law Enforcement Officers) that the price for me would be more.

Now that I look at it as I type it I might just get it at the range, S&H from topglock.com is $15 plus $40 for the transfer and background check so that's $65. That saves me like $35 and the wait for the gun and also the off-chance that something gets screwed up with the mail or something, plus I love that range and they have catered to me hand and foot and I guess they deserve the money.

Does this sound ok?

Any advice, suggestions, words of wisdom, etc...are appreciated.

Thank you,

Derik

2. ShackleMeNot

ShackleMeNot MINDSET

If the price isn't much different buy local and establish a life-long relationship.

I carry a Glock 19 all day, every day. It's a GREAT gun.