GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS4 Rev. 2.0 Q?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by dissonance, Nov 30, 2007.

  1. dissonance

    dissonance reset OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    5,652
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    KS
    GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS4 - Power?

    So I got all of my parts and was putting them together and have a question.

    On the GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS4 Rev. 2.0 motherboard, in the top right corner area there is a PCI-E 12v power plug (I have the Corsair CMPSU-520HX power supply). Do I just plug in any of the 4-pin cables there or is it supposed to be a special type of cable?


    (never had PCI-E before)

    And it's not the (square shaped) 4-pin CPU power input nor the 6-pin rectangles that I have cables for with PCI-E markings, its 4 pins in a row.

    = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = =
    EDIT: ISSUE RESOLVED THROUGH EVGA TECH SUPPORT... ANSWER AT THE BOTTOM
    also with negative zero's assistance... thanks
    = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = =
     
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2007
  2. negative zero

    negative zero New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    6,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    the Watchtower
    you mean the top right as if the pci cards are on the bottom left?

    If so, I think that's just a molex style connecter for extra power to a video card. Of course if your vid card has the 6 pin, then do not connect the molex.
     
  3. dissonance

    dissonance reset OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    5,652
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    KS
    Correct, with the mobo in the case and the case standing up. It is a molex, couldn't think of the proper name. So there isn't a special cable though, I just use one of the many ones that are on the psu?

    My video card is an eVGA GeForce 8600GT SuperClocked and does not have its own power input. I also have a LSI MegaRAID SAS controller in the other PCI-Ex16 slot.
     
  4. negative zero

    negative zero New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    6,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    the Watchtower
    Hmmmm, if your video card doesn't have any input for power then I would say to check the cards manual to make sure. I'd hate for you to do it and then have a problem.

    you can also ask over at evga forums.
     
  5. dissonance

    dissonance reset OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    5,652
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    KS
    I would think though that if I have a PCI-Ex8 RAID controller in the second x16 slot that runs at x4 electrically that it would need that extra juice?

    I'm just going to call tech support.. hopefully no one else is dork enough to be putting a computer together on a friday evening
     
  6. dissonance

    dissonance reset OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    5,652
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    KS
    Damn, eVGA kicks ass... no wait at all, strait to the tech guy.

    Anyway, he said that I shouldn't need to plug it in. It is primarily there for people who are running SLI and need all that power. As for if I wanted to go ahead and plug it in he said there would be no worry of overpowering or frying anything, it would be safe.
     
  7. negative zero

    negative zero New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    6,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    the Watchtower
    :bigthumb:
     
  8. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,090
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204
    It's just extra power for the mobo, not for the cards. Higher end card (8800gt, gts, gtx, etc) have 6 pin PCI-E power adapters on them and take their power straight from the PSU, not through the board.

    I would plug it in.
     
  9. negative zero

    negative zero New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    6,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    the Watchtower
    :dunno:

    Not arguing with you but the manual says:

    So I think it is for graphics card(s).
     
  10. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,090
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204
    my bad, there's another board out there that takes a power cable right to it that's just for the board, not the video. I'm trying to find the model of it but keep coming up empty...
     

Share This Page