Giga Bank 80GB External HD PROBLEMS!!

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by CinciBCAT34, Jan 10, 2006.

  1. CinciBCAT34

    CinciBCAT34 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    1,612
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Naples/Orlando *(UCF)
    I plug it in (supposed to just be "plug-n-play"), but i keep gettin an error balloon saying it "there was a problem... your device may not work properly"

    I am tryin to use it to store my media files... i don't want to back up my entire system or anything, just have a place to store my music/movies to keep them off my laptops hard drive... thanks in advance, and im gettin quite frustrated already
     
  2. CinciBCAT34

    CinciBCAT34 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    1,612
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Naples/Orlando *(UCF)
    i tried pluggin it into my friends laptop and desktop and both gave the same error message, and my dad, who has 2 said he had no problems pluggin and playing..... maybe a defective product?
     
  3. CinciBCAT34

    CinciBCAT34 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    1,612
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Naples/Orlando *(UCF)
    the only help the website offers is a new updated version of the software used to back-up the system.... if tried downloading that, and also the backup software it came with, and that does not help
     
  4. Teck

    Teck WTF? OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2002
    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    1. If you assembled the external drive yourself whats the jumper setting on the drive?
    2. Did you actually format the drive via Disk Managment in MMC?
     
  5. DSMTuning

    DSMTuning New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    1,335
    Likes Received:
    0
    exactly what i was going to say... also did you try installing the drivers from the cd if one came with it
     
  6. Zak8022

    Zak8022 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Messages:
    4,012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    My money is on it not being formatted propertly.
     
  7. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Go to Disk Management and make sure it's there and has a drive letter.
     
  8. CinciBCAT34

    CinciBCAT34 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    1,612
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Naples/Orlando *(UCF)
    I didn't assemble it myself, but it didnt even show up in disk management... that was one of the solutions of the iomagic website, becuase sometimes they had problems with lettering or somethin, but it doesnt show up at all as a drive
     

Share This Page