Getting Xbox 360 wired on our Network

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by JBknights10, Dec 18, 2007.

  1. JBknights10

    JBknights10 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm getting an Xbox 360 for Christmas, and want to figure out how to get it online through Ethernet. On our main floor in my dads office we have a Westell WireSpeed DSL Modem (model number 2110) connected to the phone line, with an Ethernet cable in between that and our Linksys Wireless-G router (WRT54G). My dads work computer is connected directly to the router through Ethernet. Both of our other computers are connect wirelessly and are in the same airspace as the router.

    I'm putting the 360 downstairs in the basement, and it will be right next to a phone jack. Is there a way to get it connected through ethernet on our home network? I don't really want to go the wireless route if the Ethernet cable is included and will be more reliable. Should I get another router, like a connection point or something or get another modem and just connect through there? I'm new to this, thanks.
     
  2. Sexual Vanilla

    Sexual Vanilla New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Is the building already wired for Cat 5 (ethernet) cable? If so, is it a phone jack or ethernet jack that is located next to the Xbox 360? You'll need an ethernet connection in order to connect to Xbox Live.
     
  3. JBknights10

    JBknights10 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Older house, only wired for phone. :wtc:
     
  4. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    run cat6
     
  5. Redbeard

    Redbeard OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    12,791
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Nowhere

    Depending on how old the house and whether or not you can drill a small hole, just buy a long ass cat 5 cable and get tricky with it.
     
  6. eideteker

    eideteker Who jarked off in my frakkin' coffee? OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,428
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PA.
    There are many options for ethernet over inside power lines and phone lines. I've got no personal experience with using them, so I can't vouch for the speeds they get, interference, etc. Here's some information about HPNA.
     
  7. JBknights10

    JBknights10 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well if upstairs we have a DSL modem in our phone line which provides an ethernet port, can't I do that down in my basement and still be on the same internet as my computers?
     
  8. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    It doesn't work that way. DSL uses a phone line to give you access to the internet. The phone jack is not an internet jack.

    Best way is to get a network cable down in the basement or go wireless.
     
  9. Zak8022

    Zak8022 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Messages:
    4,012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    Wireless will be the cleanest solution.
     
  10. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    no, wireless is the quickest to setup but will NOT be the cleanest solution. The cleanest solution would be the most professional and require the least maintenance, and wireless does NOT fit that bill.

    cat6 is the cleanest solution.
     
  11. Kieffer87

    Kieffer87 Orly OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Where the Green Grass Grows
    If you have drop ceilings just run a cable, If you don't then it may be better for you to buy a wireless card for your dads desktop and move the router and dsl modem downstairs to that phone jack. That way the 360 will have a hard line and the computers should be fine on wireless.
     
  12. JBknights10

    JBknights10 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
  13. Zak8022

    Zak8022 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Messages:
    4,012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
  14. eideteker

    eideteker Who jarked off in my frakkin' coffee? OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,428
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PA.
    I hate to harp on it, but is HPNA so bad that no one will even acknowledge it as an option? No offense to the thread starter, but he doesn't even know what an access point is for...HPNA would be a plug-and-play, 100mbps connection as far as I can tell. I realize Cat6 cable is the most direct and solid connection, but he might not be able to do this.
     

Share This Page