Getting videos off the Tivo

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by clog, Apr 5, 2007.

  1. clog

    clog NO SOUP FOR YOU!!!!11

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    20,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LOLifornia
    I have Toast 8 titanium installed, and it came with some TiVo thing that supposedly does something :hsughno: I asked my folks to tivo LOST in HD today, is htere any way I can hook up the dvr via USB to my MBP this weekend and get the show off there?
     
  2. Icedog

    Icedog New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Messages:
    8,100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CO
  3. ez4me2c3d

    ez4me2c3d Cold Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    What you need is your Tivo on the network, either via wireless usb adapter, or LAN cable.
     
  4. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,743
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    ^^ both of those
    i don't use tivo to go software, i could never get it working. i use the tivo downloader that comes with toast (most of the time i just have my server which is winxp grab the files for me though)

    keep in mind that your tivo files will look like ass on your computer, unless they are HD files from a series 3 (not sure if you can even download these yet)
    also, they are protected by tivos drm...but that can be stripped away, pm me for details
     
  5. clog

    clog NO SOUP FOR YOU!!!!11

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    20,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LOLifornia
    yeah it's a TV 3, in HD of course.

    is there an ethernet jack in the back of the tivo? Their router is on the thrid floor, but the tivo is on the second floor. What can I do? :o

    thanks for the help guys.
     
  6. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,743
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    on a series 3, i believe there is an ethernet jack
    my series 2 only has usb (and it's usb 1.1). i hook that up to a netgear fa120 usb to ethernet adapter and it's wired into my router

    you could either get an ethernet bridge or get a usb wireless adapter
     
  7. dbman96

    dbman96 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2000
    Messages:
    49,996
    Likes Received:
    6
    does anyone know how much pain it takes to accomplish this with a DirecTV HR10-250 HD Tivo reciever?

    I assume the receiver itself needs to be hacked somehow.
     
  8. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,743
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    www.tivocommunity.com

    they will walk you through it, if it's possible
     
  9. clog

    clog NO SOUP FOR YOU!!!!11

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    20,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LOLifornia
    ah jesus, it sounds like it's not going to be as easy as i thought. I'll just stick to downloading the torrents :o
     
  10. Icedog

    Icedog New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Messages:
    8,100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CO
    what's "b-town"?
     
  11. clog

    clog NO SOUP FOR YOU!!!!11

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    20,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LOLifornia
    bloomington
     

Share This Page