Getting Ready to Order my first build...input and suggestions please

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by MexicanTaco, Aug 21, 2007.

  1. MexicanTaco

    MexicanTaco New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    Messages:
    832
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    This is what I have so far. If you have any suggestions on substituting for another brand of motherboard, vid card, etc. please let me know. Thanks in advance

    Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 ST3320620AS (Perpendicular Recording Technology) 320GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM

    MSI NX8600GTS-T2D256E-OC GeForce 8600GTS 256MB 128-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Retail

    HIPER HPU-4B580-MS ATX12V v2.2 580W Power Supply - Retail

    (3)CORSAIR XMS2 1GB 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 675 (PC2 5400) Desktop Memory Model CM2X1024-5400C4 - Retail

    ASUS P5N-E SLI LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 650i SLI ATX Intel Motherboard -

    Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz LGA 775 Processor Model BX80562Q6600 - Retail

    That's what I have...let me know if this is good enough for a regular web surfing, movie watching, minor/amateur photo editing person.
     
  2. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,089
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204
    dump the sli board, 95% of people who buy one will never use it. Look for an asus or intel board with the P35 chipset.

    Also, why the 3 1GB sticks of ram?
     
  3. MexicanTaco

    MexicanTaco New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    Messages:
    832
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    I saw a build online with 3-1gig sticks.

    What do you recommend? 1-2gig or 2-2gig?
     
  4. skinjob

    skinjob Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    2,337
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Aztlán
    Always in pairs to take advantage of DDR memory.
     
  5. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    note that the psu only comes with a 4-pin 12v.

    you have to buy the 8-pin 12v cable separately for motherboards that needs 8-pin.

    8-pin = more juice

    and,.. fan LEDs = :greddy:
     
  6. MexicanTaco

    MexicanTaco New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    Messages:
    832
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    oh. This is my first build so I'm still learn things.

    Should I go with 2-2gig or just 1-2gig?

    I'm gonna be running XP and I've read in this forum that it only recognizes 3gigs. If I'm understanding correctly then I'd should get 1-2gig and then 1-2x512mb to equal 3gigs?

    This forum is the most helpful in all of OT. Other forums belittle you if you're a "newb" at things.

    Last thing. Which of these is a good sub for the SLI motherboard?

    ASUS P5K SE LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail
    or
    ASUS P5K LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail
     
  7. MexicanTaco

    MexicanTaco New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    Messages:
    832
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Shit! Ok...I have A LOT MORE to learn. Which PSU do you recommend? You seem to be very knowledgeable from reading the threads. How much extra is the 8 pin 12v cable?
     
  8. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    it's an extra $5.99 + shipping @ newegg, though out of stock right now.
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16812335004

    the problem with the Hiper design is that the 8-pin will take up 2 molex slots + the 4-pin slot. that's bad if you need those 2 molex slots for other things.
    they should have just included this in the main PSU cable.

    btw,... you don't need the 8-pin if you have a 4-pin motherboard
    it's just that it's good to have when you upgrade later on.
    most new motherboards are transitioning to 8-pin.

    If you want modular, get a Corsair 620HX or Seasonic M12
     
  9. MexicanTaco

    MexicanTaco New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    Messages:
    832
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Appreciate it Doomsday. Now another pester from me...RAM? Should I get the 1-2gig corsair and 1-2x512gb to get 3gigs?

    You sir are :bowdown: for helping me.
     
  10. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,089
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204
    I wouldn't bother with 3gb, just stick with 2. For most people, that's more than enough. Go with 2x1gb, and get a kit, the sell them in matched pairs.
     
  11. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Most motherboards (except some nForce boards with only 3 ram slots) will switch to single channel mode when you use 3 sticks of ram.

    It is recommended to use matched pairs for dual channel, so it's either 2 sticks or 4 sticks.
    Since it's most likely XP 32bit,... your options would be:
    a) 2GB = 2 x 1GB, or
    b) 3GB = 2 x 1GB + 2 x 512MB, or
    c) 4GB = 2 x 2GB, or
    d) 4GB = 4 x 1GB

    Based on current prices,... it's better to go with a or d.
    Yeah, XP 32bit will only recognize 3.XXGB. But ram is damn cheap anyway.
    Don't worry about it.

    As for the Asus P5K vs P5K SE,... (note these boards only needs 4-pin, not 8-pin)
    The main difference are in the expansion slots and the P5K SE has IEEE 1394.

    I prefer Asus, but i think those models both suck though.

    I'd consider the Gigabyte ga-p35-ds3r or the Abit IP35-E instead.
    Do you overclock? If not, consider the Intel P35 mobos which are more stable.
     
  12. mb330ci

    mb330ci OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ur Mommas House!
    Personally, I would also go with a higher wattage PSU. This gives you ample room to upgrade/add additional items such as more HD's, another vid card for SLI mode, OC etc.

    The newer PSU's also have both the 4 and 8 pin plugs.
     
  13. MexicanTaco

    MexicanTaco New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    Messages:
    832
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    I'm glad I made this thread. Thank you again doomsday and everyone else helping me out.

    I dont overclock. I just want something that will hold me for awhile. I've had the same ole dell for the past few years running p4 1.7ghz, 128mb ram and 20gig hd with integrated sound and vid:mamoru:
     
  14. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    just read the previous threads about builds.

    doc brown and others has made some lists,... just tailor it to what you need or budget.
     
  15. JaJae

    JaJae New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    5,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just a side note when I was shopping for a P35 board some Asus models put their SATA ports in bad spots for extended video cards rendering two of the SATA ports unusable.
     
  16. MexicanTaco

    MexicanTaco New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    Messages:
    832
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    I read his and your lists. Am I doing too much getting the quad since I'm not a gamer or 3D renderer? Both of you picked Core Duo's.

    Shouts to this man too..he put me up on the basics of building a computer.

    Jae, what board do you recommend?
     
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2007
  17. Chris

    Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    14,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas on my mind
    Also, if your not OCing, go for a Core2Duo instead of the Quad

    for the same money you can get a higher clock speed, and not that many apps support 4 cores
     
  18. MexicanTaco

    MexicanTaco New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    Messages:
    832
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    You beat me to the punch...I was just asking that.

    Its save me about $80 if I went with a core duo.
     
  19. JaJae

    JaJae New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    5,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Keeping within your budget this is about what I would recommend (some prices are estimates):

    This motherboard:
    $140 GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3R LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail

    $75-150 either DDR2 800 or 1066 memory 2x1GB sticks from either Corsair or OCZ
    You can often find rebates on memory. The 1066 is faster, but it's often twice as expensive. The DDR2 800 is fine if you're looking to save some money.

    $125 Corsair or Seasonic PSU roughly 500 watts

    $35 LITE-ON 20X DVD±R DVD Burner With 12X DVD-RAM Write Black SATA Model LH-20A1S OEM BK - OEM
    I'm assuming you have burning software already. If not the retail version with Nero is only like $5 more.

    $100 Harddrive - nothing wrong with the drive you picked. Stick with that brand and get whatever size you want/can afford. Make sure the drive you select comes with a 16MB cache.

    $300 Processor, nothing wrong with the quad core. Read reviews on the quad core vs the E6850. Both very capable chips with very similar performance. I went with the Q6600 personally.

    $125 Video Card - the 8600GTS is an acceptable card. It's not blazing fast though.


    Check reviews off newegg, shop around for good deals and rebates. But overall this is a compatible system that will do very well for the money spent. This brings you up to under $1000 without a case, monitor or operating system.
     
  20. JaJae

    JaJae New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    5,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Look at the clock speeds for each core. The higher the core the better the processor will be able to handle individual tasks. If you're the average home user a quad core could be overkill and the lower clock rates may actually slow you down (but then again at these high speeds you likely won't notice). However, if you intend to do a lot of multi-tasking and run a lot of processor intensive programs at the same time the quad core would likely be the better selection.

    A dual core processor will allow you to watch a movie, edit photos and surf the web with no difficulty and at this point the quad core will probably be overkill for your needs. The E6600 or similar clocked processor is more than enough.
     
  21. MexicanTaco

    MexicanTaco New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    Messages:
    832
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Good looking. I decided upon more research that I'd be a waste to the quad since I dont play games or multi-task very often. I went with a Core Duo 2.33(E6550) and the board you just recommended.

    Thanks!
     
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2007
  22. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    the $299 price of the quad has made it very attractive.
    if it were $900+ or so like before,... only a few would consider buying it.

    if you think it's not worth it @ $299, or if you don't really need it,... by all means get the dual cores.
     
  23. MexicanTaco

    MexicanTaco New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    Messages:
    832
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Newegg had it at $289 but in the end I'd be getting more than I am capable of doing.
     

Share This Page