Getting IP Address of Remote PC on LAN/WAN

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by DemisE, Dec 9, 2004.

  1. DemisE

    DemisE Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Messages:
    6,337
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Memphass
    Infastructure - Active Directory 3 Domains
    Needs - I would like to have a way to get the IP address of a remote PC but I only have the users active directory ID.

    Thoughts?
     
  2. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Depends on what you are ultimately trying to do. You can build trust relationships, create a VPN - kind of depends on whether it's a one time thing or what
     
  3. DemisE

    DemisE Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Messages:
    6,337
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Memphass
    Mostly it will be for our support staff. When they want to remote into a users PC they need the IP address and it is quite the task to get that information from the users. All of the domains are already trusted so intercommunication is already in place. A DOS command or vbscript would be ideal.
     
  4. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    with AD, don't you have netbios name resolution? If so, you should be able to ping their netbios name and get their IP back.
     
  5. DemisE

    DemisE Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Messages:
    6,337
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Memphass
    the netbios is the name of the PC on the network. But given the above post that information is not avaliable. Just the persons userid
     
  6. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    I'm old school when it comes to solutions like this - not always the best solutions but they do work. I would hand out a batch file with this in it:

    net send administrator User: %username% on Computer: %userdomain%\%computername% needs help

    and tell them to double click it when they need help
     
  7. IAMwhitey

    IAMwhitey New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,010
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    wow great idea, i never though of doing it that way.

    one tool i found useful for people to get their IP address is just directing them to www.whatismyip.com

    easy way to get their IP address
     
  8. col_panic

    col_panic calm like a bomb Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    188,160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    winter haven, fl
    fyi if this was netware it would be simple. netware administrator will show the ip of the pc that each user logs in from. and nlist will give you the mac
     
  9. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    From an internal LAN, that wouldn't resolve properly (assuming a private IP scheme). But yeah, there's a slicker way of doing it I'm sure but whatever works. You could also send the actual IP address with that batch file, takes a little more work but it can be done if necessary.
     
  10. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    You can also look at connections into the main DC server but what a pain in the ass to surf through all that crap just to find a computer name.
     
  11. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    if they all connect to your domain, couldn't you write a login script that runs automatically and would then update a database of who is where and when? Then you can easily see what system the user is at? Might be useful for other purposes, as well.
     
  12. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Yup, I do that for login and logoff information - it's been useful. I write it into a text file and then import it into a database if I need to use it. I wish Windows would come with some built in shit for this kind of thing - I know there are ways to get the information but they're a pain in the ass.
     

Share This Page