Getting into track days / autocross / run-what-you-brung events...

Discussion in 'OT Driven' started by Oman4x4, Dec 1, 2005.

1. Oman4x4

Oman4x4 Active Member OT Supporter

Sep 22, 2004
    Ok, I've been doing the 4x4 thing for a while now, learnt to drive in the Jeep, still drive the Jeep. I feel I've got good control over it, can even slide it quite well and mastered some good techniques for the dunes too... I feel I'm a decent driver.

I also want to get into sports cars soon though. If things go to plan I should be in a position to pick up an '05 Mustang in 6 months to a year... it's a beautiful car and I love it, so I don't wanna f*** it up :big grin:

It is going to be quite different... for a start being that low to the ground will take a while to get used to I'm sure. It's faster than anything I'm used to... I want to avoid damaging the car and myself.

At the same time, I don't wanna be driving a V8 Mustang and only use it as a daily driver, but then I don't want to be doing things too stupid on the roads or get myself in too much trouble with the local cops. The cruisers have gun turrets :noes: Good thing about the Wrangler was I can legally have a lot of fun off road in it.

The good news is we have a couple decent tracks in the United Arab Emirates we can use, so if I get the car I want to attend all the events going on... My question is are these track-days generally suited to help out "newbies" ? Am I going to be pissing off a lot of people by starting off slow or do they generally have time slots for different classes of capabilities and so on?

How do you get into the autosport activities? I don't wanna be in way over my head if I turn up to my first track-day in a relatively new car...

The Dubai Autodrome has advanced driving schools and I'd definitely go through that... What else is worth ticking off?