Getting Cable TV from Broadband?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by MitzEclipse, Jun 3, 2002.

  1. MitzEclipse

    MitzEclipse Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    I just got finished reading this article and it occured to me that I should try to figure out how to do this.

    However, when I put my TV's coax cable into the cable internet it doesn't display the basic cable. Does anyone know what I should buy from radio shack to make this a reality?

    Thanks
     
  2. BobG

    BobG Fuchs.

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2001
    Messages:
    5,953
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Stealing your internetz
    There's problem of splitting the signal that is present. Your modem will need to see no more than +/- 5dB of signal AT THE MODEM (read: not the splitter or ground block) in order to operate properly. Most cable companies now install traps at the tap (on the pole) that will allow just enough bandwidth to allow the modem to function properly. Splitting the signal to a TV could knock it out of that +/- 5dB range, thereby rendering the modem service intermittant or completely useless.
     
  3. MitzEclipse

    MitzEclipse Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Thanks for the reply, much appreciated. Has anyone else tried to do this ...and have they been successful at it?
     
  4. Guest

    Guest Guest

    4 of my firends have tried it w/ success
    actually it was the installers idea, he told them to get a spilter, blah blah blah...
     
  5. MitzEclipse

    MitzEclipse Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    What splitters did they have to buy or other supplies?
     
  6. BobG

    BobG Fuchs.

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2001
    Messages:
    5,953
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Stealing your internetz
    Two-way 900mHz splitter.
     
  7. hay112

    hay112 For every sprinkle I find I shall kill you

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2001
    Messages:
    4,837
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do those traps effect the cable modem speed?
     
  8. JazzHound

    JazzHound Guest

    So probably yes! With dsl any irregular noise on the line would affect it's performance, so I'm going to assume the same is true with cable.
     
  9. mastermojo

    mastermojo Guest

    Does anyone know where I can get or how to make a descrambler?
     
  10. 1200mk

    1200mk Still same OG

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2001
    Messages:
    16,889
    Likes Received:
    3
    ebay has lots of descramblers for sale....... and black boxes as well :)
     
  11. Camcam

    Camcam J.U.N.K.E.R.

    Joined:
    May 15, 2000
    Messages:
    5,809
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Neo Kobe City
    I just put a splitter on my cable. One going to tv, one going to cable modem. I get all channelse except the pay ones. (Of course this is extra $10 a month)
     

Share This Page