Getting an inexpensive laptop...

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Stiletto Princess, Oct 10, 2005.

1. Stiletto Princess

Stiletto Princess New Member

Hey everyone,
    I'm looking to get a laptop for less then $800.00

I'm a college student and i just plan on using it for papers and surfing the net so I don't need anything really powerful, and I was wondering you you guys could give me some suggestions.

Here are some I've been looking at:
    http://www.circuitcity.com/ssm/Toshiba-Satellite-Notebook-PC-L25-S119-/sem/rpsm/oid/133633/catOid/-12963/rpem/ccd/productDetail.do

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage.jsp?skuId=7454364&type=product&productCategoryId=cat01174&id=1125465390707

Any other good deals or ideas would be great!

2. Penguin Man

Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

Those are both fine. I'd recommend looking at an iBook. They're a bit more expensive (start at about $900 on student pricing), but you get way more bang for your buck and a much better quality notebook.

3. 4W4K3

4W4K3 New Member

Compared to the Celeron's I also agree an iBook will be more powerful, and only a little over your budget if you get the basic model with student discount or w/e you can apply for. You can save after you get it and upgrade RAM/HDD or w/e you need mroe of, and I think you will be pretty happy with the iBook.

What features do you NEED most definetly? A DVD player/burner? Integrated Wireless? A huge HDD?

4. tony

tony Guest

The base price for an iBook with a student discount, is $950 (just checked); that is a lot more money for the average college student. You can get a rather nice laptop for well under $800 if you shop deals and are willing to make a couple compromises. Smaller screen, no dvd burner, etc.