Getting a new mac, how do I transfer all my stuff?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Labster, Nov 14, 2009.

  1. Labster

    Labster OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Messages:
    5,717
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NE, OH
    Is it as easy as just time machining my current machine and dragging and dropping from my time machine backup? I'm a little fuzzy on how this works. Do I have to reinstall all my programs? A run down from someone that's done it would be awesome! Thanks guys!
     
  2. hoppy1028

    hoppy1028 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,946
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orlando
  3. Fucker

    Fucker out of the fast lane, bitches

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    11,538
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The Left Coast
  4. Pepe

    Pepe New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,721
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    8 Mile
    yup, pretty fuckin easy
     
  5. FlyNReeLow

    FlyNReeLow Elite Member #200

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    5,693
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Central Coast, CALI
    came in to post this same info
     
  6. Labster

    Labster OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Messages:
    5,717
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NE, OH
    I'm not going to have my current macbook by the time my new one comes in. Any other ideas?
     
  7. Labster

    Labster OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Messages:
    5,717
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NE, OH
    awesome! Just what I was looking for. I'm gonna do a full backup tonight.

    Any good registry cleaners for Mac? I tried Onyx but had problems getting it to run. I just want all my sensitive info off the machine before I hand it over to a stranger.
     
  8. Pepe

    Pepe New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,721
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    8 Mile
    this

    and this
    :bowdown:
     
  9. Labster

    Labster OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Messages:
    5,717
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NE, OH
    Problem with that is that I don't have lthe leopard install disc, aperture disc, or office 08 disc and the buyer wants all these programs. I honeslty am only interested in getting rid of my internet data and ill just do a secure erase of my documents.
     
  10. Labster

    Labster OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Messages:
    5,717
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NE, OH
    So I'm guessing I'm stuck getting all my programs again as well? If so, anyone know a good source for office 08 or PS? I needed to update my applications anyway.
     
  11. Labster

    Labster OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Messages:
    5,717
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NE, OH
    I have one, I think actually from you! Thanks! I'll just spend the day at the university library leeching their t3 speed to get all my stuff back in order. Any programs that I shouldn't live without this time around? I've been holding off for a while getting anything because I've been looking to upgrade for a while now.
     
  12. Labster

    Labster OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Messages:
    5,717
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NE, OH
    Will do. Just didn't know if there was anything that's the new bee's knees..
     

Share This Page