Gentoo installation - Day 2

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by hurleyint1386, Aug 21, 2007.

1. hurleyint1386

hurleyint1386 Someone has sand in their vagina

This is my first time installing Gentoo on my own, and it's taking a while. Many people have told me that it's no cake walk. All day I've been busy, so all of the work I've done has been either last night, or tonight. I'm really hoping I get this up and running if not by tonight, then at least by tomorrow. Any other Gentoo users? How long did it take you your first try to install it, and how long does it take on average now? Just curious

2. P07r0457

P07r0457 New Member

gentoo is easy; takes a long time for a stage-1 install; stage-3 is quick; Should be no probs to get done;

if you want a headache, go do a LFS build.

3. deusexaethera

deusexaethera OT Supporter

Step 1: reformat hard drive.
    Step 2: dispose of Gentoo CD.
    Step 3: install Kubuntu.

Done!

4. P07r0457

P07r0457 New Member

gentoo > kubuntu;

5. hurleyint1386

hurleyint1386 Someone has sand in their vagina

word.

gentoo is a more minimalist os than kubuntu.

6. deusexaethera

Yeah, cause nobody likes features.

Say what you want about the relatively bloated nature of *ubuntu, but I can set it up with zero effort and KDE/GNOME will let me put icons on my desktop like I expect to be able to. Menus are great if you have a ton of options, the command line is great if you actually know the special abbreviation for every single command that Linux uses (since including the 'o' and the 'y' in 'copy' would totally slow you down), but for basic shit like opening my home directory, I just want a desktop icon and I don't want to have to think about how to make it work. Drag and drop, folks, drag and drop.

7. P07r0457

P07r0457 New Member