General questions about MSF/new rider

Discussion in 'OT Driven' started by Changed, Jan 31, 2006.

1. Changed

Changed Guest

I have been entertaining the idea of getting my motorcycle license for the past year, starting last spring really. I have no riding experience... The cloest I have been to riding a motorcycle would be a 4-wheeler :hsugh:

Anyway, I think I'm going to my DMV sometime soon to get my permit, and then I plan on taking the MSF so I can learn to ride AND get my license. I was wondering if it is a good idea to actually buy equipement before taking the MSF? I was thinking helmet/jacket/gloves for the MSF. The thing is that I am a poor college student, and I doubt I'll have money for a bike unless I take out like a $3000 loan to buy a bike :hs:

Also, what are some opinions on actually taking a loan out to buy a used bike? (if it matters: I am done with 2 years of college, and I have 0$ of debt)

:wavey:

2. TL1000RSquid

TL1000RSquid ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ

Get your gear first, as far as loan on the bike try to take out yourself from a bank if you do financing through dealership you end up with high intrest rates, find better prices private sale then through a dealer.

3. machine81

machine81 New Member

I've had a bike before (in college), but had to sell it when I moved to start a new job. I've never taken the MSF because my state didn't require it and just didn't make it a priority. Now I'm in the process of replacing that bike and have decided to take the MSF as a refresher course. I've convinced a couple buddies of mine to take it with me. Neither has any experience on a bike or with a manual transmission. The class instructor has assured them that NO experience is required (except that you have to know how to ride a bike). You don't need a helmet, but they require that you have a long sleeve jacket, pants, eye protection, boots, and full-fingered or motorcycle specific gloves.