General Protection Faults.. Need Help

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by hocke230, Jun 14, 2003.

  1. hocke230

    hocke230 Guest

    No Label

    OS: Windows XP 5.1 (Build: 2600)
    CPU: AuthenticAMD PentiumPro-class processor @ 1162 MHz with 255MB RAM
    Video: RADEON 9000 SERIES (6343)

    General protection fault!

    History: ProcessNode <- ProcessNode <- ProcessNode <- RenderLevel <- FLevelSceneNode::Render <- FPlayerSceneNode::Render <- UGameEngine:raw <- UWindowsViewport::Repaint <- UWindowsClient::Tick <- ClientTick <- UGameEngine::Tick <- UpdateWorld <- MainLoop


    How do I fix this? I get this every every single time I play army or most other games?

    thanks

    Running XP
     
  2. Mugatu

    Mugatu Ask me about market research. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    245,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    you might want to get some more RAM - not sure if that will help but it won't hurt
     
  3. Mugatu

    Mugatu Ask me about market research. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    245,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    also, update your drivers - I found a couple of articles talking about the radeon 9000 causing GPFs under windows 2000 and XP with older drivers
     
  4. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    what is ur chipset? i know the radeons have some problems with certian chipsets.
     
  5. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    yeah, definately check your drivers... looking at the call stack, it is failing when it goes to render the nodes. Probably just a bad driver or a wrong version of directX or OpenGL.
     
  6. hocke230

    hocke230 Guest

    what version of DirectX should I have? What is openGL?

    My chip set should be a 1800 but turned it down b/c it would keep giving me blue screens.

    I dont show any heat problems actually runs pretty cool. All drivers are/have been just updated with ATI?

    thanks
     
  7. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    1800? thats probably ur processor.

    chipset like NForce2, KT400, KT333, etc.
     
  8. hocke230

    hocke230 Guest

    sis745 i think
     
  9. hocke230

    hocke230 Guest

    04/26/03 17:52:27: DXSetup - CommandLine: /packageinstall




    04/26/03 17:52:28: Installation Started with language eng
    04/26/03 17:52:28: Installing on Whistler
    04/26/03 17:52:28: Equivalent version already installed
    06/15/03 00:15:15: DXWSetup: ***** DXWSETUP *****
    06/15/03 00:15:15: DXWSetup: WinMain()
    06/15/03 00:15:15: DXWSetup: GetDXVersion(): Unable to get RC string from registry.
    06/15/03 00:15:15: DXWSetup: DXVersion: 4.08.01.0810.00
    06/15/03 00:15:15: DXWSetup: SetupVersion: 4.09.00.0901.06
    06/15/03 00:15:18: DXWSetup: Unable to get Version on target file C:\WINDOWS\System32\directx\websetup\dsetup.dll
    06/15/03 00:15:18: DXWSetup: Error copying C:\DOCUME~1\ADMINI~1\LOCALS~1\Temp\IXP000.TMP\dsetup.dll. Error = -536870349
    06/15/03 00:15:18: DXWSetup: Installed file C:\WINDOWS\System32\directx\websetup\dsetup.dll
    06/15/03 00:15:18: DXWSetup: ERROR = Couldn't run install on C:\DOCUME~1\ADMINI~1\LOCALS~1\Temp\IXP000.TMP\dxwsetup.inf, error = 183
     
  10. hocke230

    hocke230 Guest

    I got this error when trying to install 9.0a of directx
     

Share This Page