[GEEK] I need help creating a back up plan for my office

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by MrStrike, Feb 25, 2005.

1. MrStrike

MrStrike Guest

Hello all

I’m a new network admin at a new job. This company’s back up server is scary. It’s an old tower case with a 1.5 GHz CPU and 256mb ram running XP. The back up software is Backup exec 8.5. It does a full back up every night to a separate hard disk. There are 8 drives in this computer. One for everyday of the week (M-F), one OS, One just for the Laptops, and one external HD for off site storage. I kid you not 2 of the HD are just laying in the case; the side cover is off to help cooling. I have been told that one drive fails every 3 weeks. I think they are exaggerating a bit, but they are using the cheapest WD HD they can find.

OK so it’s my job to come up with a solution. Here is what I'm thinking, please offer advice.
    It’s a small company and there is very little total data. About 150-200 GB for everything uncompressed. Because of the fear some folks have of the frequent HD failure, the occasional “I deleted X file 48 hours ago. Can you get it back?”, and the luxury of having a small volume of company wide data, I want to keep the mind set of doing full backups every night. I will be buying a rack and rack mount server for this duty.
    I can’t decide the path to take.

A= Use 6 hot swap HD. Monday through Friday and one for off site. The backup for the laptop is only 1 GB and so infrequent Ill work with it elsewhere.

B= Use 4 Hot swap HD. One for weekly and alternate daily full backup’s in-between the other 3. Off site can be handled an external drive that we already own.

C= Use 3 Hot swap HD. One for weekly and alternate daily full backup’s in-between the other 2.

Option A gives a lot of flexibility. But Pricy for the chasse and drives.
    Option B Is cheaper, but only gives 72 hours for me to receive data.