gaming PC

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by logan1, Jul 20, 2004.

  1. logan1

    logan1 Guest

    yo guys looking to build a gaming PC got $800 to spend......just the CPU....what to u guys/gals think..........

    CPU: AMD Athlon XP 3200+ Barton CPU FSB 400

    Memory: 1024MB Dual Channeled DDR400 PC3200 Memory

    Motherboard: ASUS A7N8X-E Deluxe Mother Board

    Video: ATI Radeon 9700 Pro 128MB (Original ATI)----- already have this

    Audio: audigy 2 ----------already have this

    Hard Drive: Maxtor / Western Digital 80.0GB Hard Drive 7200 RPM 8MB Cache Serial ATA

    Optical Drive: LG 8X DVD +- Rewriter & CD-Rewriter drive (black)

    Network Card: 10/100 network onboard

    Case: Ahanix Harmony Tower Case

    Power Supply: 400 Watt Power Supply-----already have this

    Speakers: inspire 6.1------already have this
     
  2. logan1

    logan1 Guest

    if i can get better bang for my buck please suggest...i would like to hear what u guys think about this configuration.....
     
  3. Corp

    Corp OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    28,201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Providence, RI
    instead of the 3200+ get the 2500+, it can easily be oced to 3200+ with little heat increase. i have that chip, but i dont have it oced cause i dont need to.
     
  4. logan1

    logan1 Guest

    i dont know how to overclock.........also is the 3200+ just an overclocked 2500+
     
  5. SugarCoatedSour

    SugarCoatedSour Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Messages:
    53,663
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Glenview, IL
    The setup sounds pretty good for gaming to me? What do you plan on playing on it to begin with? It should be able to do UT2K4, Painkiller, HL2, and Doom 3 with relative ease.
     
  6. logan1

    logan1 Guest

    wow u got em all................but farcry:bigthumb:
     
  7. Brian

    Brian New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    12,116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The 949
    overclockig is quite esy just go 2 your bios and go under cpu cntrols and turn up the ghz you could make this in 2 a 4000+ if u get proper cooling
     
  8. snapstylez

    snapstylez Aleinn Á Ný

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2002
    Messages:
    2,604
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    austin, tx
    here's my planned system so far

    motherboard - ABIT KV8 Pro - $105.00 - link

    processor - AMD Athlon 64 3000 - $211.00 - link

    heatsink - ZALMAN CNPS3100 - $40.99 - link

    case - ANTEC Black Sonata 380W PSU - $99.00 - link

    system memory - Crucial 512MB DDR 3200 - $96.99 -link

    videocard - ATI RADEON 9800 PRO Video Card 256 MB - $276.00 - link

    keyboard - Logitech Optical keyboard/mouse - $20.00 - link

    monitor- crt black - $95.00 - link



    all from new egg, total is $955.97 (not including shipping)

    however, since you already have a video card, you can knock the price down to $697.

    also, does anyone have any comments about my future set up?
     
  9. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    That should do the trick.
     
  10. McClane

    McClane Who Killed Marilyn?

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2001
    Messages:
    20,250
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Houston
    9700 might a little too old for hl2 and d3 to run and look nice and smooth, really wont know till they release though :dunno: prolly be ok though
     
  11. logan1

    logan1 Guest

    AMD Athlon XP 3200+ Barton CPU FSB 400...V.S .....AMD Athlon 64 3000+

    how much performance difference is there between these 2......also how is hte overclocking ability of the 64 bit processor as compaired to the 32 bit........:sadwavey:
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 20, 2004
  12. Jay

    Jay My shit don't stink

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2000
    Messages:
    36,746
    Likes Received:
    2
    no. I recommend you stick to the 3200 or a 64 3000 if you don't know how to OC mainly cuz results may not be up to you expectations or you can end up damaging the processor.


    also, why not get the 9800 pro?


    memory I always recommend corsair xms, but OCZ perfromance or geil dual channel kits are good also.
     
  13. oradii

    oradii www.oteampress.com

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    779
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ATL
    Go for the 2500 over the 3200. With the extra money you could get a 10k RPM hard drive instead or better yet, bump up your Ram to some high speed shit, maybe Corsair XMS, the faster ram will allow you to have faster FSB and clock the 2500 to 3200.

    the 9800 is the way to go as well, 128 is fine, 256 will make you feel ubah.
     
  14. McClane

    McClane Who Killed Marilyn?

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2001
    Messages:
    20,250
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Houston
    trading a 2500 for a 10k rpm HD for gaming is a pretty awful idea.
     
  15. logan1

    logan1 Guest

    do u guys thinks its wiser to buys a 2.0 GHz 64 bit processor ...or ...a 2.2 Ghz 32 bit processor....for gaming....both AMD

    AMD Athlon XP 3200+ Barton .....V.S .....AMD Athlon 64 3000+
     
  16. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    64 bit for sure

    GHz are not GHz when comparing processors of different architectures...especially after 64-bit windows XP is released.
     
  17. logan1

    logan1 Guest

    how important is it to have a good tower......like the one from antec.....as oppose to buying one from e-bay for like $20......if i already have a nice thermaltake powersupply......
     
  18. snapstylez

    snapstylez Aleinn Á Ný

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2002
    Messages:
    2,604
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    austin, tx
    antec comes with antec power supply, and as i understand it, antec power supply > *

    also for sure get a zalman heatsink fan, zalman > *

    the sonata is black, comes with a decently nice fan (120mm) already installed

    you seem to have the money ($800) go for the newer stuff man, don't overclock if you don't have to, yet atleast :big grin:

    athlon 64 is the new amd flagship, xp is old news (but still good)
     
  19. logan1

    logan1 Guest

    how do the Athlon 64 FX-51 compair with the AMD Athlon 64 3200+
     
  20. logan1

    logan1 Guest

    also r the Soyo Dragon Ultra Black a good motherboard........
    Soyo K8USA Dragon Ultra Black Label

    AMD Socket-754 Athlon 64 Based on AMD 8151 Chipset ATX Motherboard Supporting 800 MHz FSB, DDR400/333, 6-ch audio, 8X AGP PRO, overclock capability, 10/100/1000 Mbps Giga LAN, USB 2.0, Serial ATA, IEEE 1394
     
  21. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    super lanboy doesn't :(
     
  22. SugarCoatedSour

    SugarCoatedSour Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Messages:
    53,663
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Glenview, IL
    My Antec SOHO server case didn't come with a PSU, but then again, I paid $65 as opposed to the $100-something with the PSU. I'm just using my current 330W anyway.

    Other than that most Antecs come with the powersupply?
     
  23. SugarCoatedSour

    SugarCoatedSour Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Messages:
    53,663
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Glenview, IL
    The setup looks good to me. :) I just ordered a setup relatively similar, but I only bought an Athlon XP 2700+, Radeon 9600XT, and the $19.99 Zalman flower instead. Strapped for cash. :wtc:
     
  24. Scoob_13

    Scoob_13 Anything is possible, but the odds are astronomica

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Messages:
    73,796
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Fort Worth. Hooray cowgirls.
    Bump it to 1GB of RAM and you'll be good to go.
     
  25. logan1

    logan1 Guest

    is kingston RAM good........what r some good RAM
    Manufacturers
     

Share This Page