FX5200 problems

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by trees, May 8, 2005.

  1. trees

    trees New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    new york
    about 2 months ago i purchased a new evga geforce fx5200 off newegg, and tried to install it on my system, and was getting crazy rainbow colors in any game i would try to play, the textures would just turn to rainbows. so i took the card out, put my shitty old card back in, complained to evga, they never sent me tech support back. so i packed the card up and its been sitting on my shelf ever since, and i would really like to get this card working, as my other card is quite outdated (not like the fx5200 isnt, but its better than what i have). i tried everything possible with drivers, using driver cleaner, testing different versions of nvidia drivers etc.. nothing works. when i play a game like half-life, i get runtime visual c++ errors in hl.exe, i would get the same thing with wow.exe when playing wow. wondering if anyone out there can help me troubleshoot this situation, since evga tech support blows
     
  2. Spaawn7

    Spaawn7 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    N. California
    Did it come Overclocked? See if coolbits is already unlocked in your advanced display settings. They kinda sound like artifacts from overclocking.
     
  3. trees

    trees New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    new york
    dont see anything called "coolbits" in my FX5200 settings :ugh:

     
  4. trees

    trees New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    new york
    bump
     
  5. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    RMA the card just to be sure.,
     
  6. trees

    trees New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    new york
    RMA? what? :sadwavey:
     
  7. Spaawn7

    Spaawn7 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    N. California
    I'd try reinstalling and getting oficial drivers from Nvidia.
     
  8. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    oh boy... call evga and say you want to rma it... means you want them to replace it under warranty.
     

Share This Page