SRS FWB? open relationship? i'm not sure

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by kutenk, Jun 3, 2008.

1. kutenk

kutenk OT Supporter

newbie here, had an interesting time lurking and reading all the threads, figured i contribute a thread of my own and look for inputs.

I've been "casually" dating a girl for almost a year now. I'm a very open and straightforward person so I told her on the first date that I'm not looking for a relationship. At this point in my life, I don't know what I want and I think that it'd be wise for me to establish a career before any relationship. I told her all this and she shares the same views I have. So for the past year or so we been having fun; we would call each other whenever either of us are bored and we would hang out. Although we're very physically attracted to each other and have sex every chance we get, we do still enjoy each other's company and just hang out in general. It's not just a FWB thing, I don't believe it is because we do have feelings for each other. You'd be a cold person not to have some sort of feelings with someone after being intimate with them for a year. It's just that we control our feelings so that neither of us get too attached. It's kinda like an open relationship I guess. I actually encourage her to go out with other guys she meet. She doesn't know what she wants either and personally, i think the best way to figure that out is to date around. She once asked me how I would feel if she does go for another guy and I told her that although i'd be a little sad (I do have feelings for her), I would not feel betrayed and would definitely still be her friend.