MIL Future of the AirForce V. Raptor

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by KUBA, Aug 27, 2006.

1. KUBA

KUBA New Member

I was watching the military channel the other day, and they said that the Raptor would probably be the last manned fighter ever made. The program said that they actually had to implement controls over the plane so that the pilot could survive the flight withough g-forces tearing him to shreds. Because the plane is so advanced that without the controls it could kill the pilot in some of the manuvers it can perform.

Do you think that the future of the AirForce is going to be totally unmanned?
    Or will we always have pilots in the high performance jets?

2. EYOB

EYOB Guest

So you're saying the F-35 is going to be unmanned ??

[​IMG]

:hsugh:

3. KUBA

KUBA New Member

I'm not saying anything, im just asking the military guru's on this board for their take. I'm no expert in planes, but I thought the F-22 was still more advanced than the JSF. And im talking more about the next generation of aircraft.

There has been a steady increase in unmanned drones flying all over the place in Iraq and everywhere else. So I was just asking if the guy on tv was right and there will be a future shift to unmanned planes.

4. EYOB

EYOB Guest

I'm pretty sure the military channel has more credibility than anyone in this sub forum.

But in my own novice opinion, I think we will always have some type of manned aircraft to overcome fears of movie-goers of our own creations attacking us.

:dunno:

5. TheNewMonaro

TheNewMonaro New Member

They're actually working on an unmanned F-35 as a tech demonstrator.

6. TheNewMonaro

TheNewMonaro New Member

I imagine you'd first see a daisy chain headed up by a manned platform much like the model for USV/UUVs.

But yes, removing the human means to can push to airframe, plus you don't risk losing pilots at a cost of a few million each.