"fuel numbers" v.clean bulking

Discussion in 'Fitness & Nutrition' started by crucialkc, Jul 29, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. crucialkc

crucialkc the earth is flat

Background: I weigh about 195, looking to bulk up to 220lbs. as clean as possible.

I recently started training with a new partner and he was saying that for bulking, I should try to get ~600g of Carbs and ~350g Protein while consuming the least amount of fat possible unless they are healthy fats (omega 3's, etc)

I have been doing this for the last few days. I've been getting the full about 350g of protein, ~450g Carbs, and ~100g Fat. It's been around 4500 cals each day.

My question is whether or not this is a good method simply because I've never heard of it before, EVER.

CLIFFS: bodyweight x 3 = # of grams of carbs for bulk, bodyweight x 1.75 = # of grams of protein for bulk, minimal fat intake. Good method?

2. Marix

Marix OT Supporter

Sounds fine, but "as little fats as possible" isn't too good. But then you said around 100g a day, which would be fine.

Lyle McDonald (and I dont do this name-dropping business very often!) suggests 0.5g fats/lb body weight. So in your case this would be around 100g.. again, fine.

The standards I use are:
    Protein = at least 1.5g/lb
    Fats = at least 0.5g/lb
    Carbs = however many I feel comfortable with.

3. crucialkc

Why does Lyle suggest wanting fat? or are these the "healthy" fats? (like from eggs, etc. not cheeseburgers)

4. crucialkc

so do you think 100g-150g of fat is good for clean bulking (meaning it's only coming from fish oil and from healthy foods)? keep my goal of going from 195 to 220 in mind.

5. Genghis.Tron

Genghis.Tron New Member