FUCKING WIFI!!!!!! :madfawk:

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Jonny Chimpo, Oct 29, 2007.

  1. Jonny Chimpo

    Jonny Chimpo OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Messages:
    64,699
    Likes Received:
    355
    Location:
    The sweaty asshole of the universe
    So I just upgraded to an Airport Extreme an Leopard (see earlier thread) and ever since, my Mac has been a complete cunt about wifi connectivity. For no apparent reason at all, my connection times out about every 10 minutes and I have to turn Airport off and on on my Mac to reconnect.

    This totally fucking sucks. :madfawk:

    My windows laptop in the next room, however, is rock solid. Any suggestions?
     
  2. Yardsale

    Yardsale OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Messages:
    88,007
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    San Francisco
    is the airport the latest firmware?
     
  3. Tvan

    Tvan New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    9,012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    Make sure your computer isn't trying to connect via ethernet and wifi?

    Sometimes I have connection issues using ethernet and forget that I have Airport enabled on my laptop. Once I disable Airport there aren't any issues, I wonder if it works the other way around?
     
  4. Raider007

    Raider007 om nom nom nom

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    17,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    one you figure it out, feel free and share...
    i got the same issue on my ibook.
     
  5. Jonny Chimpo

    Jonny Chimpo OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Messages:
    64,699
    Likes Received:
    355
    Location:
    The sweaty asshole of the universe
    yup, latest firmware. :wtc:
     
  6. Jonny Chimpo

    Jonny Chimpo OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Messages:
    64,699
    Likes Received:
    355
    Location:
    The sweaty asshole of the universe
    I'm not entirely sure how to disable network interfaces in Leopard, but I've removed all network configurations except for Airport in the Networking preference pane.

    I've just reset everything (cable modem/AEBS & rebooted the Mac) and I'm waiting to see if it takes a shit again.
     
  7. CarRamRod

    CarRamRod The schnozzberries taste like schnozzberries.

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Change wireless channels? That fixed mine.
     
  8. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    IR mode ?
     
  9. Jonny Chimpo

    Jonny Chimpo OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Messages:
    64,699
    Likes Received:
    355
    Location:
    The sweaty asshole of the universe
    wha?
     
  10. mad_vtak

    mad_vtak Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    30,760
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Memfrica
    Infer Red im assuming.
     
  11. Jonny Chimpo

    Jonny Chimpo OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Messages:
    64,699
    Likes Received:
    355
    Location:
    The sweaty asshole of the universe
    That's what I thought too, but I have no clue how that would have anything to do with my problem since none of the devices involved even have infrared...
    :ugh:
     
  12. CarRamRod

    CarRamRod The schnozzberries taste like schnozzberries.

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Interface Robustness.
     
  13. Jonny Chimpo

    Jonny Chimpo OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Messages:
    64,699
    Likes Received:
    355
    Location:
    The sweaty asshole of the universe
    The details. They overwhelm me. :hs:
     
  14. Uncle Phil

    Uncle Phil OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    Messages:
    25,132
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    my wireless connection on my MBP has not been playing nice with Leopard too. I notice it also doesn't pick up on other wireless connections in the area either now :o
     
  15. vwpilot

    vwpilot New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,596
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think its a Leopard issue. There are threads like this on the Apple forums and my MBP that I just upgraded to Leopard on drops connectivity every now and then for no reason while the Mac Pro which is still running Tiger and running through the same router and internet connection stays running just perfectly.

    I'll also get times where I cant get to specific websites but others will work. Again, the Pro running Tiger will get to those sites without issue.

    It definitely seems to be a Leopard bug.
     
  16. CarRamRod

    CarRamRod The schnozzberries taste like schnozzberries.

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
  17. vwpilot

    vwpilot New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,596
    Likes Received:
    0
    Its not interference in my case. Everything is in the same place it was before and I'm only feet from the router.

    Also, I'm on the network just fine, it has nothing to do with the wireless, its solely in connection to the internet. I only lose internet connectivity, not a connection on the network.
     
  18. Jonny Chimpo

    Jonny Chimpo OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Messages:
    64,699
    Likes Received:
    355
    Location:
    The sweaty asshole of the universe
    I haven't been able to try anything but the internet in my case. I've never bothered making my PC and Mac talk to each other.

    I'm assuming I lose all network connection over wifi though, because my wifi reception indicator in the menu bar also drops to zero and if it stays that way long enough the wifi connection drops entirely and it shows that Airport isn't connected to any networks.

    :wtc:
     
  19. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    I've been nervous with the latest AEBS firmware for the same reason.. It's working for me right now, so why mess with it?
     
  20. Uncle Phil

    Uncle Phil OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    Messages:
    25,132
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    seriously, had quite a few wireless issues with Apple's Airport updates.
     
  21. Jonny Chimpo

    Jonny Chimpo OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Messages:
    64,699
    Likes Received:
    355
    Location:
    The sweaty asshole of the universe
    ok.

    So far today it's stable. Here's what's changed:

    - Reset cable modem, AEBS and rebooted computers
    - Turned on interference robustness
    - Removed all network interfaces other than Airport in the networking OSX preference pane
    - Made my network "hidden"

    No clue if any of that helped or if it was just coincidence.
     

Share This Page