Friend wants to upgrade her OS. Could I roll with 64 bit on this?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Bojangles6, Nov 9, 2009.

  1. Bojangles6

    Bojangles6 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Pentium (r) D CPU 2.80Ghz
    2.80 GHz, 1.98 GB of RAM

    This is all the specs she gave me. She's currently running windows XP and she's wanting to add 2 more gigs of ram. I know that XP won't use anything past 3 gigs, though. So, I'm just wondering. She's wanting Windows 7 64-bit but I don't know much about 32 bit and 64 bit. So, which should she get?


    Thanks for the help.
     
  2. sj23

    sj23 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    9,658
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Parts Unknown
    Does she game or heavy video/photo editing? If not IMO what she has already is more than enough for normal everyday use. I have 4GB and rarely go past 1.5GB of use.

    XP 32bit supports up to 4GB but will subtract any video memory so mine shows 3.75 available. 64 bit will get you past that 4GB limit.

    XP Memory Limits
    http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa366778(VS.85).aspx#physical_memory_limits_windows_xp

    Windows 7 Memory Limits
    http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa366778(VS.85).aspx#physical_memory_limits_windows_7
     
  3. Bojangles6

    Bojangles6 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    She doesn't game but she does do a lot of photo editing.
     
  4. CodeX

    CodeX Guest

    If it's a 64bit processor use a 64bit OS

    /thread
     
  5. Negative Ions

    Negative Ions New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,431
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    I doubt it's a 64 bit processor. Hell, the Core Duo in my laptop isn't.
     
  6. Bojangles6

    Bojangles6 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Exactly as I thought. I thought it was based on processor and I highly doubt it is as well. Thanks, guys.
     
  7. Sailor Jerry

    Sailor Jerry OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    35,173
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Dirtona Beach
    The Pentium D is a 64-bit chip, so you may as well use a 64-bit OS.
     
  8. modspace

    modspace New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    oklahoma
    Pics of said girl
    Come on this should of been the first reply amirite?
     
  9. sj23

    sj23 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    9,658
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Parts Unknown
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pentium_D
    If you want to double check have her download CPU-Z and see if it says EM64T under instructions in the CPU tab.

    http://www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php
     
  10. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Only the original Core Duo's were 32 bit - Core 2 Duo's are 64bit
     

Share This Page