WEB freelance designer / geek who is totally lost

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by conRAD, Aug 14, 2007.

1. conRAD

conRAD New Member

Heya folks. Glad to see this forum exists.

To keep things short and sweet - I have been toying around in web design for almost nine years now. Flash is my strong point, I can do actionscripting, I've been reading books on php and sql, and I really love making webpages.

But, I cant seem to find any work!

I freelanced around a lot last year, and the only good money I made was working with another web developer, doing the flash work while she did the layout and worked with the client. Other than that, every potential job falls through, wont pay, or is too indecisive on what kind of site they want.

does anyone have any suggestions to make some cash? Be it advertising in a new way to attract clients, using my skills to do something else on the web and make some spare cash, etc.

I don't work right now and really need to start pulling in some money. Anyone else out there with similar problems? Anyone willing to lend a hand or some advice?

2. pkr

pkr Guest

www.krop.com first result right now... there's tons of work.

3. i used to go through the various "bidding" freelance sites, and i definitely made some cash off of that. it all depends on how aggressive you are on bidding, how well-stated your profile/skillset is, and if your work and portfolio stand out from the hundreds of out-of-country freelancers out there on those sites. trust me, there are tons and TONS of them who will definitely bid way lower than your bid, and sometimes people will hire them. but i started noticing that a lot of people are trying to avoid these types of freelancers which is good news for you. it definitely helps to be a paying member of those freelance sites as well so you get a higher number of bids alotted per month.