Free Car Audio

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by popsnbeer, Jun 27, 2006.

1. popsnbeer

popsnbeer New Member

Okay...so not for you but for me!

This is pretty much for you Audio guys that feel like reading something. I am a poor student who cannot afford a decent car, much less extra $$ to put a sound system in. Anyways, here's what I have and surprisingly it sounds decent minus the sub box I built.

Panasonic deck, older model wont even play mp3's 45Wx4

Front 6.5 2 way "Concept" brand speakers (they have some silver cone, no clue on the specs) I got them for free from a friend who took them out of his car after he wrecked it (he got them for free from some old guy trying to promote his equipment)

Rear 6.5 2 way Jensen speakers. Straight from Target these are only one of two things I purchased for my system and the goal was to replace the stock blown speakers.

Subwoofers: 1 10" Kenwood tornado (blue cone) and 1 10" Lightning Audio (black cone) my other Kenwood sub had a mishap with a screwdriver so I got the LA from WalMart on closeout for like $15. The kenwood subs were free from my brother who used to have them in his car and since lost all interest in bass in his new car.

Amplifier: 150w Rockford Amp, Its an older model prolly like 6 years ago, has black and silver stripes. The gain on the back has a bobbypin stuck in it to adjust because the former knob broke.

One Sub box with 1/2" MDF (you may say I bought this but it was just laying around the parents garage). This works somewhat okay and surprisngly the subs are overextended in it (pretty sure it's too small, and built badly)