SRS Freakin' lonely and bored...

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by Fox800, Feb 21, 2009.

1. Fox800

Fox800 Fear Boner OT Supporter

Just wanted to vent.

I'm 22, moved to Austin about 8 months ago. I work full-time as a paramedic. I'm a rookie at my job so I get the shaft with shifts, so I wok weekend nights. I miss out on a lot of the cool shit in Austin (nightlife, concerts, parties) because I'm at work during all of that. In this town you meet singles through school (went to another college, graduated), work (can't do that obviously), or through bars (greeeat). So I work 3 days a week and have 4 days off in a row...and I just sit at home. Or work out. Run errands here and there. Try to tag along with my sister who's a junior at UT. Don't know anyone here except work friends who are almost all married/have kids/live-in significant others. I have one friend that I hang out with now and then and we just go out and drink.

Work.
    Home.
    Off-topic.
    Work out.
    Sleep.
    Repeat.

FML.

2. SuckerPhree

SuckerPhree New Member

Sorry, bro : (

I live in Houston, you can drive down and hang out with me anytime, lol

Anyway, it's okay to be alone for a while.
    You seem to be a normal guy, and I strongly believe situations just naturally change over time.
    Eventually you will meet new friends, find old friends, or even meet a girl.
    Just take this time for self improvement or try changing your routine.

Maybe later down the road you can ask your management to trade days of work. That way you can do something else on the weekend nights.

Nothing lasts forever, not the good stuff, not the bad stuff.

3. tenxia

tenxia OT Supporter

Pretty sure that's going to be my life for a while when I move for my new job.

4. Toasty

Toasty Naked people have little or no influence on societ

There have been periods of my life I have felt the same way... what you're feeling isn't unusual at all.