A&P Found my new favorite lens...

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by PackingMyBags, Mar 3, 2010.

  1. PackingMyBags

    PackingMyBags New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NorCal
    For some reason im on a MF frenzy lately. My current favorite is my Canon 55mm F1.2 lens. Took some work, but now she is an EF mount. :naughty:

    [​IMG]
     
  2. The Cable Guy

    The Cable Guy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Messages:
    16,075
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rowland Heights, CA
    Now find someone who cares :ugh:
     
  3. ThexToddster

    ThexToddster New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    20,748
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Woodcrest, CA
  4. NOR*CAL

    NOR*CAL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Messages:
    17,600
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Hella
    nice, I'd like to borrow that :hs:
     
  5. Cesium

    Cesium OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Messages:
    11,363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    Sweet. Did you machine the mount or use an adapter with glass?
     
  6. PackingMyBags

    PackingMyBags New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NorCal
    Ha ha, you'll have to build one im afraid. :p

    Yea, i machined the mount and had to do a minor adjustment to the rear element. I now have infinity focus.

    [​IMG]

    Took this hand held shot right after i converted it. Nothing special, but you can see how well it works in low light. Ive since added a AF confirm chip to help with focusing.
     
  7. Bob Loblaw

    Bob Loblaw Guest

    very cool
    i found a mintolta rokkor 58mm f1.2 with an EF conversion on ebay, im trying to win it :x:
     
  8. Bob Loblaw

    Bob Loblaw Guest

    what focusing screen do you have in your camera?
     
  9. PackingMyBags

    PackingMyBags New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NorCal
    That should be a nice find. I dont know how the rokkor compares but it should be an exciting lens.

    Still have the original screen. Went with the AF confirm chip, so i wouldnt have to swap screens. It works good but when i really focus close on a subject it gets a bit off. I mean my DOF is pretty thin.
    [​IMG]
     
  10. Bob Loblaw

    Bob Loblaw Guest

    what camera?

    you should definitely look into the E*-S screen if you've got a lot of fast lenses
    the standard focusing screen only shows up to f/3.5, the S screen should show you 1.2 or at least 1.4
    it'll really help with manual focusing
     
  11. PackingMyBags

    PackingMyBags New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NorCal
    Good point. It gets straining at times. Ive been wanting to try it out, but havent looked into pricing. How much is the S-screen? BTW my camera is a 40D.
     
  12. Bob Loblaw

    Bob Loblaw Guest

    the model of the 40d s screen is "ef-s" i believe

    mine was like $37aud which is ~33usd
     
  13. Waddup you?

    Waddup you? OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Messages:
    45,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sandy Eggo
    I have a focusing screen for my MF lenses. after installation, I had gotten used to using the factory screen on my d80. but now, it does help tons.

    Bob Loblaw - what is E*-S?
     
  14. Bob Loblaw

    Bob Loblaw Guest

    on canons, the focusing screens are A, S, and D
    the second letter is camera dependant

    ie; the screens for my 5d2 are
    EG-A - standard screen
    EG-S - super precision matte (shows shallow dof)
    EG-D - standard with grid

    the 40d screens are
    EF-A - standard screen
    EF-S - super precision matte
    EF-D - standard with grid

    etc


    5d mk1 is EE-S/EE-A/EE-D
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 3, 2010
  15. PackingMyBags

    PackingMyBags New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NorCal
    Ill have to get one then. Does it bother you to leave it in all the time, or do you have to pull yours out with your other lenses? I dont care much if it has a focusing circle in the middle, so long as i can always fine tune my shot.

    You leave yours in all the time now?
     
  16. Waddup you?

    Waddup you? OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Messages:
    45,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sandy Eggo
    gotcha... I forget what screen I installed on my d80. I need to redo the install or get a new screen because there's dust in mine :o

    packing - yeah, I dont see a reason to take it out? if you DO eventually get a focusing screen, I definitely recommend using PLASTIC tweezers to aid in the install. I used metal tweezers, and I put some divots on the screen. I cant tell if that affected the screen via the viewfinder, but its safer to use plastic tweezers :hs:
     
  17. Bob Loblaw

    Bob Loblaw Guest

    it looks just like the standard focusing screen, except it shows the true depth of field (its not like a split prism or anything)

    i leave mine in, theres no need to swap them in and out


    some people say its darker than standard, which is is a little bit,
    but all my lenses are f/2.8, so its not an issue for me
    if you have slower lenses, the viewfinder becomes darker
     
  18. Bob Loblaw

    Bob Loblaw Guest

    the canons come with tweezers and everything in the kit :bowdown:

    [​IMG]
     
  19. Waddup you?

    Waddup you? OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Messages:
    45,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sandy Eggo
    [​IMG]
    50mm 1.2
     
  20. Waddup you?

    Waddup you? OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Messages:
    45,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sandy Eggo
    I may have to get a legit nikon screen for mine then. I didnt want to spend the money at the time, but now I know. I have a split prism style screen. I would rather have a screen that shows true depth of field, I mean, makes sense, right?

    :bowdown: to the plastic tweezers

    packing - there should be a diy for your camera online somewhere.
     
  21. NOR*CAL

    NOR*CAL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Messages:
    17,600
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Hella
     
  22. PackingMyBags

    PackingMyBags New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NorCal
    Good to know. So will the prism one work about the same (minus the dark shading)? I wish i had only fast lenses, but i really have quite a mix. Should i just hold off then? I mean i can focus and get decent DOF, but it takes a sec.

    I figured as much. Ill have to look into it a bit. BTW nice F1.2 pic :naughty: How many blades does it have?

    I wish i could. I dont live in Cali right now. My buddy who has access to a machine shop isnt so much my buddy anymore. I also dont have another lens. They are quite pricey now without any conversion work
     
  23. Waddup you?

    Waddup you? OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Messages:
    45,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sandy Eggo
    9 blades
     
  24. PackingMyBags

    PackingMyBags New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NorCal
    9? That seems a bit odd. Ive got 8 in mine...
     
  25. Waddup you?

    Waddup you? OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Messages:
    45,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sandy Eggo

Share This Page