For the web developers

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Astro, Dec 12, 2003.

?

You use templates with your web site(s)?

1. Heck yeah! Gotta have templates!

9 vote(s)
    60.0%
  2. Nope.

4 vote(s)
    26.7%
  3. No. But I would like to learn more about it.

2 vote(s)
    13.3%
  1. Astro

Astro Code Monkey

Do you put your site(s) together using templates or a template system (either off the shelf or something you built)?

When I refer to templates, let's leave PostNuke/PHPNuke out since they're more of a content management system. Let's say you have a site to build. Do you build it with templates or just toss the HTML together?

2. Leb_CRX

Leb_CRX OT's resident terrorist

I'm not a hardcore developer, I've only worked on small projects, but I just draw an idea on paper, at work or whenever, then try to create something along those lines...idea for layout and go from there

3. SLED

SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

i typically work with a graphic designer (since i SUCK at it) and from the html he/she generates, i'll make a template out of it when i'm using classic ASP. I also like to store the html content in the database, so a bunch of REPLACE()'s on it. .NET and java are a different animal though.

4. Astro

Astro Code Monkey

SLED, I'd define that as using templates. You're seperating the HTML from the code which I consider is templating.

5. CyberBullets

CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

yes, it makes your life much easier as a developer. if you have to change 1 thing to the website, change the template, not every page on the site.

6. Leb_CRX

Leb_CRX OT's resident terrorist

hmm I use SSI and that's been working fine for me, but I'm'a look into what y'all use

like for example
    www.thesimpsons-club.com which I got, the Table of contents is with a SSi sheet and shit like that...change one htey all change

7. Astro

Astro Code Monkey