For CS Professionals

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by et3rnul, Jul 28, 2006.

1. et3rnul

et3rnul OT Supporter

I'm a computer science undergrad and I'm looking for internships. Can someone give me some advice/tips on how to land one? What are employers looking for? What skills do most employers require, and how should I go about improving them? Also if you've had any good/bad experiences, plz post.

2. Nefarious77

Nefarious77 Guest

As saturated as the IT market is right now, your image and professionalism is going to have to be a strong points in order to sell yourself. There are thousands of people just like you wanting to do the exact same thing right now. Get some business cards printed up, build a strong resume hitting all your skills, and do some social networking. You're going to have to get your name out there so when people think of needing someone, you come to mind.

Honestly, employers these days are looking for experience over anything else, followed by certifications. Even though most of us IT folks think certs are a waste of time, the people that sign our checks know nothing about IT and they are in the mind set that a cert means you know what you are doing....which 50% of the time isn't true.

Start contacting large companies in your area that would have an IT department and get your name out there. Hopefully you'll get a bite somewhere.

3. samm

samm Next in Line

Get involved in clubs and activites at your school. Potential employers like to see involvement in areas outside your studies, especially if you are an officer (president, vp, treasurer, etc).

4. YodaHart

YodaHart New Member

Work on some projects on your own or with clubs at school. Most of the things they teach at school you won't even use in the real world. Learning things on your own shows self motivation to employers. I've learned that a degree will get you an interview, but experience will get you a job.