Discussion in 'On Topic' started by Admitted, Apr 26, 2008.
Got the class Sunday, what normally goes on?
depends on where you're taking it boss.
I'm taking it in Illinois, hahahah
I live in MO, but the range is in my hometown, 10 minutes across the river. MO is a CCW friendly state. I hate Illinois.
I see only Floridians in this thread, so I hope you know you can take the Florida 8 hour course out of state right? You don't have to be a resident of FL to get a FL license.
How come you aren't getting the PA license? Travel to states other than missouri? I'm assuming you're an illinois resident living in missouri for school. If you're a missouri resident then nevermind
If you have a ccw license in another state it will typically work in another state. Florida is compatiable with 32 states last I checked about 6 months ago.
@ having to take a class....that shit sucks
IL resident in MO. Should be switching to MO soon (law school dependent) . But MO is 23 to carry. When I get out of state FL, I can be 21 and carry in MO.
Yeah I know. In a semi-related note, I was thinking about doing USMC JAG, just to get some free law school, but, Military Law is nothing like Civilian law. Plus, I already have a job offer first year out.
Keep in mind in the mean time that a pennsylvania permit is like $15-20 and requires nothing more than a form filled out and mailed in. You can save your money from some state mandated training course and fingerprints and put it toward quality training. MO honors the PA permit. If you become a MO resident you may be required to get a MO permit, not sure what the applicable state laws are on that.
OMG OMG LINK ME PLEASE!!! I think it is too late though. Class is in 48 hours! But in all honesty, I know some of the training goes over circumstances when you can/can not draw your weapon, and that information I find paramount. In terms of real training, I know the CEO and CFO (father) of an up and coming firearm manufacturer/training/equipment company, and I get free training/weapons when they get moving!
NVM. found a link on handgunlaw.us
Dammit that is awesome! But I don't think I can cancel my class.
Never can hurt to get a little extra, now you know for the future and can tell your friends Once you get your permit back in like a week from centre county you can send off for a new hampshire permit that gives you several more states for another $20.
Thanks for the info. I'm probably still going to go through Florida since everyone honors theirs. This class wasn't a terrible deal. $150 for the class and it included a 1 year range membership that was worth $150.
I was going to support any additional classes or training til I realized who would be getting the money. Screw that, those guys are douches, don't give them a cent
I didnt learn anything from the class I didn't already know. Really it's just so you can get a piece of paper to mail in for a ccw license...
You know of BSR?
Oh yeah, its hard to find a range around here and been in there several times. At first I thought it was just me but most people seem to agree on their douchery.
The owner (Mike?) and Marsha are good people. The others are questionable.
are you going to the class at the Palmetto gun show? Im leaving right now for the 10:00 AM class on Sat, so ill let you know!
My ccw class didn't even last 3 hours. 2-2.5 hours.
All we did was watch a movie for an hour. Only cost 40 bucks.. Hey where do you live you know we have free gun ranges here..
Well this course, I found out today, is an 8 hour course, but doesn't really last all 8 hours. It is also an educational course on Missouri carry laws. The 150 doesn't include a membership, which I think is a rip, but it's too late to back out.
I took the Palmetto gun show class today - 2.5 hours including the visit to the range. Really easy, just boring. The guy took about an hour to explain how to fill out the application, which was no more difficult than a fast food job application. Easy stuff and well worth it for the $40.