Flip4Mac is free now?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Skoles, Jan 12, 2006.

  1. Skoles

    Skoles Guest

    I found this in a post on Slashdot. I thought this went for something like $10?

    link
     
  2. hoabegrubn

    hoabegrubn Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    2,098
    Likes Received:
    0
  3. dionx

    dionx > OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Messages:
    392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    i spent $10 on it in november when i got my 12" powerbook. they did offer me a $20 credit if i wanted to upgrade to their other products, but i have no use for those upgraded products.
     
  4. Pineapple Devil

    Pineapple Devil beat it!

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    53,752
    Likes Received:
    8
    very cool. i hate using windows media player for anything
     
  5. ahead

    ahead New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Socal
    what game is that in your avatar???????????????
     
  6. Skoles

    Skoles Guest

    Altered Beast.


    Just a note tho, it's very, very unstable in 10.4.4. Crashes after watching most videos. But it does play them in Quicktime now.
     
  7. Euclid

    Euclid New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    8,139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Yay, it broke my Front Row.

    I wonder if this is a flip4mac flaw or if Microsoft fucked with it?
     
  8. easy4lif

    easy4lif New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2005
    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    socal
    The reason its free now is because windows media player is no longer going to be supported. Microsoft's Bisness Unit said so today

    MS drops Windows Media Player for Mac
    document.write(''); [​IMG] [IMG]http://kermit.macnn.com/?SIT=macnnrectangle&RANDOM=299079674[/IMG]
    Microsoft says it is no longer developing a Mac version of its Windows Media Player for Mac, following the announcement of a separate five-year agreement with Apple to develop Office for the Mac and Messenger: "We have no plans to provide future updates or product support for Windows Media Player for Mac," Adam Anderson, Microsoft public relations manager, told CNET News.com. Microsoft said that it had a made a "business decision" to halt development and product support because it was re-examining its business priorities: "Our focus really is in delivering the best experience to Windows customers." Ironically, the announced followed its public "commitment" agreement to the Mac, but follows an agreement to distribute Telestream's Windows Media Components for QuickTime. The free components provide playback of non-protected content within QuickTime, supporting Windows Media 9 and high-definition content; however, it does not support content protected with Windows Media DRM. The components require Mac OS X 10.3.9 or later, however, the company will continue to provide the current version of Windows Media Player for Mac via the Web, which runs on Mac OS X 10.1.5 or later.

    The report notes that Microsoft has not released a significant update to its media player, since Windows Media Player 9 was released in November of 2003.
     
  9. easy4lif

    easy4lif New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2005
    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    socal
    also, if you go to www.versiontracker.com and type in front row. you should be able to download front row enabler in order to reactivate front row on your mac. 10.4.4 disabled mine till i ran the program
     
  10. trevor

    trevor There's always a brand new day

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    0
    sweet! Thanks!!
     
  11. BlackWRX02

    BlackWRX02 OTs Cingular Guru

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    3,642
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Daytona
    gonna check it out. I'm in 10.4.4 now but hell as long as I can watch a WMV it would be great :bowdown:

    details on frontrow?
     
  12. Euclid

    Euclid New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    8,139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    The bug I was experiencing has been fixed with flip4mac 2.0.1 (released today). :cool:
     

Share This Page